Rising Sun Member Forums

Rising Sun Member Forums (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/index.php)
-   Ham & CB Radio Corner (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Need to check mh-48 mic cable to FT1802 (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=16193)

Inukshuk 07-30-2011 01:12 PM

Need to check mh-48 mic cable to FT1802
 
Anyone have a spare or momentarily borrowable mh-48 mic or cable so I can check my radio. Just yesterday keying the mic causes my FT1802 to cycle on and off.

I suspect the cable as it is the weakest link.

Cable can be ordered for about $25. Whole new mic is $70!

Inukshuk 07-31-2011 10:50 AM

Bueller, bueller, bueller...

Anyone have a MIC I can plug in?

DanS 07-31-2011 01:22 PM

Daniel:

I've got one you can try. I won't be back in town though until Tuesday afternoon at the earliest, but I *should* be at the meeting and will have it with me there. If not, I'll be running around time on and off over the next few weeks, I'll have the radio/mic with me either way.

EDIT--I'd bet that HRO has one that you can test on it.

Dan

wesintl 07-31-2011 02:00 PM

I've got an 1802 and mic. I can bring it to the meeting or you can come out here if your in a rush

Inukshuk 07-31-2011 11:11 PM

Thanks! I'll try to swing by the pre-meeting action.

Closer than HRO.

CardinalFJ60 08-01-2011 04:36 PM

is it the same as on the 2900?
 
if it's the same mic on the 2900 I can bring mine to work tomorrow. I'll toss it from our window to yours across the alley. :D

the PN is close...lemmeno if it'll do the job and/or if I can bring it in for ya'.

Inukshuk 08-01-2011 11:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CardinalFJ60 (Post 188335)
if it's the same mic on the 2900 I can bring mine to work tomorrow. I'll toss it from our window to yours across the alley. :D

the PN is close...lemmeno if it'll do the job and/or if I can bring it in for ya'.

You the creepy guy across the alley with the telescope....

I should have time around 3 or 4. That would be great.

Inukshuk 08-22-2011 11:04 AM

I just spoke with Vertex Standard customer service (Yaesu makers) and they said my problem is almost definitely power. The unit is shutting down because it does not have enough power to TX but then comes back on because there is some current. So, I am to check for bad connections.

Inukshuk 08-22-2011 07:50 PM

All Fuses and Fuseblocks are Not Created Equal

So, for the second time I have had a fuse-related electrical problem. Sure enough, the current drop was at the aux fusebox by the battery. Replaced the fuse, cleaned contacts and HAM is back, just in time for the 7:30 CC net so I was able to verify TX and RX.

I will next look to buy better quality fuses. The last time was in Central Wyoming for the Outlaws Run - not a place to have a fuse let you down.

Does anyone have brands they suggest?

corsair23 08-22-2011 09:39 PM

No suggestion on fuses but could the location be causing the issues? My aux fuse block is under the passenger seat and I haven't had any issues in 18 months. I'm just wondering if heat might not be the enemy you are fighting here vs. fuses :confused:


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.