Rising Sun Member Forums

Rising Sun Member Forums (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/index.php)
-   General Tech Forum (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Diesel swap, anyone?! (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=20173)

Overlander 09-04-2013 07:29 PM

Diesel swap, anyone?!

I'm thinking again about a diesel swap into my '95 80... let's say I buy an engine of my choice and pay for it to be rebuild, balanced, etc - is there someone on this forum that this group would recommend for performing a successful diesel swap?!

Let's face it - I'm a shade-tree mechanic at best and I could not attempt this on my own - there is too much I don't know and I don't want to spend 2-3 yrs learning it the hard way.

Recommendations, thoughts plz -

Corbet 09-04-2013 08:48 PM

Justin at Redline?

You could also call Slee but I think he prefers to go down paths he has already worked out the details in advance. IE - 4.7 V8 swap.

Overlander 09-04-2013 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Corbet (Post 238575)
Justin at Redline?

You could also call Slee but I think he prefers to go down paths he has already worked out the details in advance. IE - 4.7 V8 swap.

Is Redline some local shop here in town?!

Corbet 09-04-2013 09:01 PM

http://redlinelandcruisers.com

They have a banner ad in rotation at the top of the screen as well

Rezarf 09-04-2013 09:47 PM

Overlander, I think there are a lot of factors... In your situation and with the skills you have. It's gonna cost a boat load to swap in a desiel properly. If I were you (and I'm not ;) ) I'd hunt down a rig with the motor/drivetrain I want and then buy it.

I have talked with a few people who have gone down the desiel swap road and they each said to do it right was nearly 10k total.

I love to do it as well, but after talking to a lot of folks who have done a desiel swap, I have concluded the cost to benefit ratio just wasn't there for me.