Rising Sun Member Forums

Rising Sun Member Forums (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/index.php)
-   Ham & CB Radio Corner (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Tech.... (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=5850)

Uncle Ben 01-17-2008 02:44 PM

Tech....
 
Soooooooo...since I was playing hookie during Groucho's first class I now seek on-line education. :rolleyes:

Right now when I key up on lets say 145.145 (tone set at 107.2), the transmit frequency jumps to 144.545. Does this mean I'm running Duplex? If that is true then if I wanted to stay Simplex is it just a matter of disabling the freq shift?

:confused: :zilla:

Shark Bait 01-17-2008 02:58 PM

It has to be that way for the repeater to work. You will be simplex when not tuned to a repeater frequency. 146.520 is a standard simplex frequency. I actually raised someone on that frequency on my way down to Ouray this past summer. He was quite surprised. I don't think we were even 10 miles apart.

Romer 01-17-2008 03:01 PM

Thats still not called Duplex is it Chris?

Uncle Ben 01-17-2008 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shark Bait (Post 58590)
It has to be that way for the repeater to work. You will be simplex when not tuned to a repeater frequency. 146.520 is a standard simplex frequency. I actually raised someone on that frequency on my way down to Ouray this past summer. He was quite surprised. I don't think we were even 10 miles apart.

Ahhh....I'm beginning to understand....that has had me :confused: for a while. Back to my question.....if I turn off my freq shift technically I can be simplex on 145.145 without hitting the repeater...correct?

Uncle Ben 01-17-2008 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Romer (Post 58592)
Thats still not called Duplex is it Chris?

according to what I understand....:rolleyes:.....if you transmit on a differant freq than you recieve that IS duplex..

Shark Bait 01-17-2008 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Uncle Ben (Post 58595)
Ahhh....I'm beginning to understand....that has had me :confused: for a while. Back to my question.....if I turn off my freq shift technically I can be simplex on 145.145 without hitting the repeater...correct?

No. I believe 145.145 is the output frequency. I'm not sure if the frequency shift (of 600 kHz for 2m according to my book) occurs automatically from the radio when you press the talk button, if you've entered the PL tone for that frequency.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Uncle Ben (Post 58596)
according to what I understand....:rolleyes:.....if you transmit on a differant freq than you recieve that IS duplex..

In reading my book, I guess it is considered Duplex.

Uncle Ben 01-17-2008 03:18 PM

BTW I am just using 145.145 as an example as I know it would be socially unacceptable to congest a repeater freq like that....

Hulk 01-17-2008 03:39 PM

I think some of the band is designated for repeaters and other parts for simplex. So you wouldn't try to run simplex on 145.145, even if there wasn't a repeater set up in your area. IIRC, this varies by state depending on the local band plan.

Hulk 01-17-2008 03:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Uncle Ben (Post 58603)
BTW I am just using 145.145 as an example as I know it would be socially unacceptable to congest a repeater freq like that....

It wouldn't interfere with the repeater operation unless you were broadcasting the tone anyway.

Uncle Ben 01-17-2008 03:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hulk (Post 58614)
It wouldn't interfere with the repeater operation unless you were broadcasting the tone anyway.

Ahhhhhh....there's another piece of the pie! Thanks!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.