Rising Sun Member Forums

Rising Sun Member Forums (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/index.php)
-   Ham & CB Radio Corner (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Programing a rig with a MAC? (http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/forum2/showthread.php?t=6358)

Corbet 03-04-2008 12:20 AM

Programing a rig with a MAC?
 
Just as the title says, any of the software for programing radios work with Apple/Mac computers?

I searched a little at Ham City and everything I found was Windows based.

Seldom Seen 03-04-2008 01:22 AM

http://www.machamradio.com/


http://www.dogparksoftware.com/MacMemoriesManager.html

DaveInDenver 03-04-2008 06:00 AM

Yeah, not much natively works for Mac. We use Parallels Desktop to run a copy of XP Home. The latest OS X 10.5 comes with Boot Camp, which lets you dual boot an Intel-based Mac. That's another option to run Windows. But you're gonna have to have access to Windows...

http://www.vmware.com/products/fusion/
http://www.parallels.com/en/products/desktop/
http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/bootcamp.html

Corbet 03-04-2008 09:47 AM

How inconvenient is it to program with a desk top? I have an old PC at home and my work one of course.

I don't think the basic Macbook we got has enough memory and such to effectively run Parallels.

DaveInDenver 03-04-2008 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Corbet (Post 64861)
How inconvenient is it to program with a desk top? I have an old PC at home and my work one of course.

I program the handheld here at work with a desktop, but the mobile in the truck is a pain. Either you have to drag it inside and rig up a bench supply or drag the computer outside to the truck. A laptop would be really handy for programming the mobile.

Corbet 03-04-2008 10:23 AM

Is programing a one time thing or ongoing?

Rigging a bench power supply wouldn't be that hard. But removing it from the truck all the time would be a PITA.

corsair23 03-04-2008 10:30 AM

Do they make really long connection cords? :hill:

Seriously though, say you could get within 100' of your computer and run a long cable out to the rig? I'm thinking I could get a rig in my LX within 25-30' of my desktop by running a cable out the window :dunno:

Corbet 03-04-2008 10:39 AM

I could get within 25' at work. More like 100 yards at home :hill:

Uncle Ben 03-04-2008 01:16 PM

Why don't we all load our programming software to the club laptop. Then we can easily create common programming speadsheets. That way when ever we are in the field we could easily jump into any of our friends vehicles if need be and quickly pull up what we need and communicate! Those without laptops can still easily upload programming while at CM or at club meetings.

Corbet 03-04-2008 02:00 PM

We don't need that kind of creative thinking around here!

That sounds great to me :bowdown:

How would that work with different brand rigs?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.