Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:50 AM
MountainMan's Avatar
MountainMan MountainMan is offline
Wincher
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Highlands Ranch
Posts: 61
Default

I need to get back in the habit of getting on air, I am a member of the ARES D24 group in Douglas County (a great organization to participate in if you are looking for a fun way to do more community service and learn more about HAM radio at the same time) but I have been a bit absent lately.

I have a Kenwood D710 that I love (APRS built in). I usually monitor 447.150 which is where the ARES guys hang out. But since I want to monitor more than one freq at a time what I am planning to do is to put another (smaller) antenna on my front bumper and run it inside to my HT (Yaesu VX-7R) so I can monitor 3 freqs: 447.150 147.225 and another not sure which i would land on most

I am also thinking about picking up this little CB unit for the times when I have to use CB when wheeling (although I really don't like CB - been spoiled by HAM range and clarity for too long).

But to Dave's point, I would likely not hang out on simplex, I would only move there as appropriate. I would rather stay tuned into more action on the repeaters...
__________________
MountainMan (a.k.a Taft) ARES D24 Member Callsign: WOZY
2007 FJC named THE MULE
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-01-2010, 12:04 PM
rover67's Avatar
rover67 rover67 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 5,418
Default

Yeah, I guess I need to just call a lbit differently and see what happens. Good points Dave. I always feel like Simplex is a bit mroe personal, but I guess repeaters can be worked to be the same as well.

The non RS folks on simplex that I talk to are out of loveland, I dig chatting with them because it is a relatively long distance.
__________________
Marco Capote
KDGWX
85 FJ60
82 FJ40
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-01-2010, 09:25 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 10,025
Default

Hey, it worked! I called out on 145.460 and ended up chatting with Corsair23 for a bit.. so that was cool.... listen for me on the way to the meeting tomorrow.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-01-2010, 09:46 PM
MDH33's Avatar
MDH33 MDH33 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Land of Corn
Posts: 5,802
Default

I really want to get more repeaters programmed into my radio but I've been having a hard time finding extra time while babysitting the baby . Is there any reason I can't bring the ham inside from the vehicle and connect it to a small 12V motorcycle battery for power and program it that way?
__________________
--Martin

'85 FJ60
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-01-2010, 09:55 PM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,607
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

you could do that.. probably beats sitting in a hot garage for a couple hours like I do then I forget what all the buttons do by the time I go to use it.
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:04 PM
RockRunner's Avatar
RockRunner RockRunner is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roxborough
Posts: 4,406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH33 View Post
I really want to get more repeaters programmed into my radio but I've been having a hard time finding extra time while babysitting the baby . Is there any reason I can't bring the ham inside from the vehicle and connect it to a small 12V motorcycle battery for power and program it that way?
That is what I did when Dave came over to program mine. I have a little 12v power supply that I used for car stereo tests. If you have a battery box you can use that also, works great.
__________________
Thanks T aka Tom KR0MPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRunner;
keys = Man that is a whole story


TLCA #6136
Going under the knife again !

85 4runner Marlin Ultimate 5" lift 40" MTR's Soft top and doors Towed to Moab by the Big Blue Whale, 07.5 Dodge Mega Cab Laramie 4" lift covered and chiped No more slow lane for me
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:12 PM
RockRunner's Avatar
RockRunner RockRunner is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roxborough
Posts: 4,406
Default

Dave depending on the time you heard me I may have actually working an emergency. My friends F350 lost his tranny and came down I-70 right before Morrison with just brakes. He had his 4K# camper on it and towing his *eep. We took of our rigs we were towing and had the ladies drive them home. I gave home my HT and I used my truck mounted unit. I stayed on 4.46 so I would not use a frequency somebody else uses plus if a RS person heard us he/she would have been amused. Tried to stay of the air as much as possible since he does not have a license and I identified about every ten.

All went well and he was really impressed with the clarity etc.

As for me I monitor 4.460 and the Denver repeater but I only drive 5 minutes to work. I'll try the other ones also.
__________________
Thanks T aka Tom KR0MPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRunner;
keys = Man that is a whole story


TLCA #6136
Going under the knife again !

85 4runner Marlin Ultimate 5" lift 40" MTR's Soft top and doors Towed to Moab by the Big Blue Whale, 07.5 Dodge Mega Cab Laramie 4" lift covered and chiped No more slow lane for me
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-02-2010, 12:49 AM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH33 View Post
I really want to get more repeaters programmed into my radio but I've been having a hard time finding extra time while babysitting the baby . Is there any reason I can't bring the ham inside from the vehicle and connect it to a small 12V motorcycle battery for power and program it that way?
What radio do you have? I loaded up the Dave special programming on my FT-8800 via the laptop while it was in the truck...Not sure what other radios the software and cable will program though...
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-02-2010, 12:52 AM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nakman View Post
Hey, it worked! I called out on 145.460 and ended up chatting with Corsair23 for a bit.. so that was cool.... listen for me on the way to the meeting tomorrow.
I thought we were on 147.225

Or maybe I was and you were on 145.460 - Still pretty to chat with someone that far away...First time I've had the radio on in a couple weeks...I actually had to plug my mic back in for the occasion
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-02-2010, 03:25 AM
jacdaw's Avatar
jacdaw jacdaw is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,233
Default

I think it's a good idea Dave. And now that for the first time ever the cpu in my FT-90 locked up and I accidentally did a hard reset instead of a soft reset and lost years of saved freqs. I guess it's time to put RS freqs. in the first 10 or so memory slots.

Back in Cali i talked on repeaters all the time. We had long commutes (2 hours some times) and a regular rag chew going for about 6 years. I remember all the names and calls and even some faces. Zero calls still throw me. It's simplex that keeps me quiet...mostly because without a squelch tail I have no idea if my signal even got out. When new, this radio had an intermmiten tx problem. I always had to kerchunk before tx'ing because sometimes I didn't open the squelch on the repeaters. Have not had that problem for years but I'm still curious sometimes if the lack of response is due to no carrier.
__________________
John A. Clary | TLCA 19964 | johnclary.net | '85 900-16vT "Sigrid"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.