Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Chit Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-24-2012, 06:25 AM
powderpig's Avatar
powderpig powderpig is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,345
Default What a difference

Well I have been stuck on Slow Mode with internet since we moved into the Mountains. The most reliable service was with Qwest. A slow 1.5Mbps. Well we got a card in the mail saying we could up grade to 7Mbps. I had heard we were going to get faster service here in Sunshine for a while. After the fire took out a bunch of wires(both xcel and Qwest). Qwest deceded to install optical fibre hub near the fire station on Sunshine county RD. Well it has only taken a little over a year for Centry link(formerly qwest) to start to upgrade every one.
Well, in talking to the rep from CL, we could get up to 20Mbps. I did not believe them, but ordered it any how. I hooked it up last Wed night and did some testing. Yes, we can test out a bit over 20Mbps on our lines.
All I can say is the internet is a whole difference experience now, and it is a real pleasure to have the higher speed. One good thing also, it did not cost us any more per month to get the higher speed service, we acutally are saving a couple dollars a month with the new service. Funny how that worked out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:49 AM
MountainGoat's Avatar
MountainGoat MountainGoat is offline
Club Treasurer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Conifer, CO
Posts: 1,071
Default

I had a similar experience here in Conifer. Called to upgrade from 1.5 to 7 mbps. They told me I could get 20 and it would be cheaper than my (then) current service if I bundled it with my phone. There was also no contract. So I did it and now I pay $10 less per month. 20 mbps rocks compared to 1.5!
__________________
Dan Kucera
TLCA# 17536
KDWJO

67 FJ40 LC Tan
94 RN101 PU Pewter
95 FZJ80 LC Red
99 UZJ100 LC Black
00 VZN185 4Runner Highlander Jade
00 VZN185 4Runner SR5 Desert Dune
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:58 AM
60wag's Avatar
60wag 60wag is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,790
Default

I recently upgraded from 1 to 10 Mbps with Century Link. Now I can watch Netflix while my daughter is watching something else. The downside is that my modem now makes it difficult for a computer to join the network. I don't know if its a setting or my ancient Actiontec modem but I have to frequently reset it for a device to get access to the network.
__________________
Bruce
'96FZJ80
'03 KTM 450EXC
"If you know what you're doing, then you aren't learning anything." - A. Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2012, 09:03 AM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,419
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

I ended up buying a new modem from Century Link when we upgraded our service. They said the old one couldn't handle speeds more than about 8 Mbps.
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2012, 10:45 AM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,550
Default

We've been on 20/5Mbps DSL since 2008, it really is fantastic. Although a lot of the Internet has caught up and so it's a little less ridiculously fast now. :-) When we upgraded we punted the land line and our price stayed the same despite losing the bundled price of a dial tone and 7Mbps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulk View Post
I ended up buying a new modem from Century Link when we upgraded our service. They said the old one couldn't handle speeds more than about 8 Mbps.
It's possible since doing 20Mbps requires an ADSL2+ compatible modem and the older ADSL and ADSL2 specs topped out at 8 or 12Mbps (depends on a few things). A bigger problem right now is the >20Mbps jump since to get 40Mbps you'd need an ADSL2+ modem capable of channel bonding and two circuits from the pole. I have an older refurbished ADSL2+ 2Wire 2701HG that I bought from Qwest for $99 that has been rock solid for years now, but it doesn't support port bonding even though our house is qualified for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2012, 07:30 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,946
Default

Century Link upgraded our subdivision last fall. We went from 2 to 8 mbps. Huge difference. I can only imagine 20
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:52 PM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,551
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

welcome to the information age. Now Davis can skype with you when he has wrenching questions
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2012, 10:39 AM
Red_Chili's Avatar
Red_Chili Red_Chili is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 8,409
Default

CL doesn't do DSL at the top of N. Turkey Creek, so I was stuck with Skybeam (slow) or Comcast (fast but $$$). I must say I am quite content with Comcast speed.

Name:  comcast.JPG
Views: 34
Size:  49.8 KB
__________________
-Bill Morgan
Heb Dduw, heb ddim; Duw a digon
Abnormally aspirated
KDRCH
Bio Page
I'm that gun-totin', farm-raised, evangelical, pro-environment, OHV ridin'/drivin', Southern civil rights pro-labor Liberal yo' momma told you couldn't possibly exist.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.