Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 07-31-2012, 07:28 PM
bigcity25's Avatar
bigcity25 bigcity25 is offline
Locked
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 245
Default

Did you lube it? I pulled my speedo gauge and cleaned 40 years of gunk off of the gears. And that at least helped with my odometer.
__________________
Jeff Billingsley
Denver Colo
7/70 Fj40
desmogged 2f, 4 speed
TLCA #21898
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-03-2012, 03:53 PM
Rock Dog Rock Dog is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: in a house
Posts: 1,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Air Randy View Post
I installed a new speedo cable in the Mule last Saturday prior to selling it. I got one from CCOT which was MUCH cheaper than an oem unit and it fit and worked great. I would suggest getting one of those before putting in another used one.

I thinking someone else suggested it but pull the internal cable all the way out of the sheath. That will tell you if it is broken or not, you can also inspect both ends closely at the same time. Lube it with something when you feed it back in.
I got one from Kurt at Cruiser outfitters that did the trick in my rusty old 76 fj40.... Since mine was a 76, i has that extra little housing on the firewall.. i got a new cable that allowed me to eliminate that, by re-routing the line...
__________________
1996 - FZJ80 (supercharged)
1985 - 4Runner (Squeaky Toy)
1976 - FJ40
KD0EXO
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-03-2012, 06:10 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,665
Default

it used to be that you could get a replacement spring for your speedo (the inner spring cable). iirc, parker store might've been one of the places that could make them. i made a bunch when i was at peterbilt a decade or so ago
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-19-2012, 06:06 PM
kurtnkegger's Avatar
kurtnkegger kurtnkegger is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Denver Burbs
Posts: 225
Default

Matt, I have a speedo cluster, and extra cable if you need it. I got a great deal off of mud, purchasing this before I diagnosed my problem. Cable is good, speedo moves when I turn the cable. My problem is a stripped gear in the t-case...I've ordered tha part, and have these now to sell. I'll let them go for what I spent...$50.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.