Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-22-2012, 08:57 AM
CardinalFJ60's Avatar
CardinalFJ60 CardinalFJ60 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,483
Default terrible interference when fridge comes on.

Anyone who's been on a run with me since I got the fridge will attest that it puts off some wicked RF interference when the fridge compressor kicks on. To the point where I have to squelch it out to about 75-85% of the travel on the squelch knob. With my HT, I can walk toward the rear of my 60 when the fridge's compressor is on and hear the intereference, I walk away...no more sound. so it's got to be from the fridge.

No one else seems to have that issue (??)

What could be the culprit? Should I just throw on a Choke? any ideas on how to track this down would be great.

I have the fridge wired straight to the aux battery with 10g. it is however still on the cig lighter plug.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2012, 09:00 AM
Jacket's Avatar
Jacket Jacket is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 3,872
Default

Where is the wiring for the radio? Do they share any part of the circuit, or run right next to each other to the aux battery?
__________________
- Matt
1976 FJ40 - green and mostly stock
1996 FZJ80 - not so stock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2012, 09:06 AM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 6,933
Default

My guess is the ground. The outlet you have the fridge, might try taking the ground directly to a chassis bolt rather than running it back. Same for the Radio.

If they are on the same positive (fuse), might try finding separate sources
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper
09 BMW Z4 sDrive30i
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2012, 12:29 PM
CardinalFJ60's Avatar
CardinalFJ60 CardinalFJ60 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,483
Default close quarters for sure...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacket View Post
Where is the wiring for the radio? Do they share any part of the circuit, or run right next to each other to the aux battery?
Both are run straight to the Aux. battery (separately of course, each on 10g) and IIRC they run right next to eachother under the hood...'cept that the Ham Power stops at the console, and the fridge runs straight back along the PS interior
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2012, 12:31 PM
CardinalFJ60's Avatar
CardinalFJ60 CardinalFJ60 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,483
Default grounds could be suspect.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romer View Post
My guess is the ground. The outlet you have the fridge, might try taking the ground directly to a chassis bolt rather than running it back. Same for the Radio.

If they are on the same positive (fuse), might try finding separate sources
They used to be on the same positive, then I ran a separate power/ground to the fridge to try to fix that interference - no improvement with that...hmmm...ground is the next I'll check.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2012, 12:36 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 6,933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CardinalFJ60 View Post
They used to be on the same positive, then I ran a separate power/ground to the fridge to try to fix that interference - no improvement with that...hmmm...ground is the next I'll check.
Could be a loose or improper ground. Might also check to make sure the ground from your battery/alt has a good connection. I remember having to take teh bolt off and grind a bit in the engine block on my 40 to get a good contact

measure from battery to a point on the chassis, should be very few miliohms. measure from the fridge ground to chasssis and should be the same

Make sure all your connections are tight with good metal to metal contact
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper
09 BMW Z4 sDrive30i
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2012, 03:00 PM
Air Randy's Avatar
Air Randy Air Randy is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 2,804
Default

Or, the motor in your fridge that runs the compressor could just be bad i.e. a brush has a slightly too large gap to the armature and is sparking. Or there is an inadequate or loose ground inside the fridge chassis.

If you know someone that has the same fridge as you do, try plugging their's into your rig in the same configuration as yours. If the noise goes away, its the fridge. If it stays, it is somewhere in the eletrical system of your truck.
__________________
Randy Rosetta KDKWX TLCA #19351 69 FJ40 "Meanie" & 1970 Boss 302 Mustang
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2012, 03:55 PM
CardinalFJ60's Avatar
CardinalFJ60 CardinalFJ60 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,483
Default GREAT idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Air Randy View Post
Or, the motor in your fridge that runs the compressor could just be bad i.e. a brush has a slightly too large gap to the armature and is sparking. Or there is an inadequate or loose ground inside the fridge chassis.

If you know someone that has the same fridge as you do, try plugging their's into your rig in the same configuration as yours. If the noise goes away, its the fridge. If it stays, it is somewhere in the eletrical system of your truck.
Doh. why didn't I think of that!?? Oh Perrrrry..where are you?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2012, 04:08 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,791
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CardinalFJ60 View Post
Doh. why didn't I think of that!?? Oh Perrrrry..where are you?
Jacket's in Lafayette, dude..


You could also just stick a battery back there, then wire the fridge up directly to it- bypass everything. Sometimes it's easier to diagnose if you can see the whole circuit in front of you..

I think you're on the right track with the ground though, just pull the cig plug out, pop off that ground wire, then run something completely separate to what you know is a solid ground. If that fixes it, then do it again but more prettier.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-22-2012, 04:47 PM
CardinalFJ60's Avatar
CardinalFJ60 CardinalFJ60 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 1,483
Default how about...

how about just leaving it plugged into AC and disconnect the DC?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.