Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-03-2008, 09:55 AM
60wag's Avatar
60wag 60wag is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,796
Default Temp blocking of a channel?

Is there a way to temporarily block a channel in scan mode on a FT7800? I find that frequently I'll be scanning and some uninteresting conversation drones on and on on a particular channel. I'd like to skip that channel for 20 minutes and get back to scanning for something more interesting. I went through the manual and the only thing I've found is to create groups that can have overlapping channel arrangements. Its really not what I had in mind. Any other ideas?
__________________
Bruce
'96FZJ80
'03 KTM 450EXC
"If you know what you're doing, then you aren't learning anything." - A. Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:03 AM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,562
Default

You can set a memory channel to 'skip' through the menu. It's not tough to do, but it's not a single button operation since you have to go through the menu. I'm not aware of a way to do a temporary skip other than just bump the tuning dial whenever it hits the QSO.
__________________
'91 Toyota Pickup
'09 Kawasaki KLR650
'12 Gunnar Rockhound 29

"They say the test of literary power is whether a man can write an inscription. I say, 'Can he name a kitten?'" -- Samuel Butler
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.