Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:26 PM
Red_Chili's Avatar
Red_Chili Red_Chili is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 8,409
Default FT7800 remote mount quick fix

Don't want to spend $59 on a remote mount kit for an FT-7800?

I ordered a replacement part RA0539800 "SUB PANEL" from Yaesu directly. This is the panel on the front of the radio itself, that the face plate snaps into.
$1.15. Shipping will be $6-10 or so.

(If that bugs you, remove the sub panel from the radio and put plastic shims where the tabs used to be, and reassemble it. That's free.)

This will attach to a Ram Mount .5" ball and arm system suspended from my rearview mirror attachment point. That will be about $27, kinda pricey but they are uber cool and totally configurable.

I will use CAT 5 cable to run down to the radio under the headliner.

Still have to figure out how to suspend the mic and cable without irritating myself or my .

On Line manual for the FT-7800:
http://www.radioamateur.eu/schemi/FT7800R_serv.pdf
__________________
-Bill Morgan
Heb Dduw, heb ddim; Duw a digon
Abnormally aspirated
KDØRCH
Bio Page
I'm that gun-totin', farm-raised, evangelical, pro-environment, OHV ridin'/drivin', Southern civil rights pro-labor Liberal yo' momma told you couldn't possibly exist.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:54 PM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,425
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

Bill: don't use CAT 5 cable.

Go on ebay look up seller W1Jim and buy the Yaesu cables (extension & aux audio extension) for $11. All high quality, 25'- more than enough.

Here it is, ready to buy.
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 · TLCA #4189 · WØRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers · my Rising Sun bio · Facebook · Twitter · Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2008, 12:58 PM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,425
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
I ordered a replacement part RA0539800 "SUB PANEL" from Yaesu directly. This is the panel on the front of the radio itself, that the face plate snaps into.
I didn't use the sub panel at all. I put some heavy-duty velcro on the back of the faceplate and mounted it to my console for a slimmer fit. I thought it looked better. And if needed, it is still very easy to remove for security purposes.

The sub panel is still in the front of my radio.
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 · TLCA #4189 · WØRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers · my Rising Sun bio · Facebook · Twitter · Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2008, 01:13 PM
Red_Chili's Avatar
Red_Chili Red_Chili is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 8,409
Default

Thanks for the lead on the cable, Matt.

There is NO room on my dash for anything though. The faceplate holder is pretty much required for my uses.

BTW- why not use CAT 5? It was Dave, or Brian (can't remember) that said not to use phone cable, use CAT 5. Or... I am dreaming. Always a possibility.
__________________
-Bill Morgan
Heb Dduw, heb ddim; Duw a digon
Abnormally aspirated
KDØRCH
Bio Page
I'm that gun-totin', farm-raised, evangelical, pro-environment, OHV ridin'/drivin', Southern civil rights pro-labor Liberal yo' momma told you couldn't possibly exist.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2008, 01:21 PM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,425
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

Don't know if there is any reason to not use Cat 5, but the cord you get from this guy will lay flat under your headliner.
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 · TLCA #4189 · WØRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers · my Rising Sun bio · Facebook · Twitter · Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2008, 01:44 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
There is NO room on my dash for anything though. The faceplate holder is pretty much required for my uses.
How about these versions of faceplate holders? Not trying to talk you out of anything...Just throwing out options I've see

IMO, I don't plan to leave my faceplate visible very often so I want something that is easily removable although I'll probably go with Matt's velcro idea

Vent mount

Dash/Windshield mount


P.S. You are putting your rig under the headliner
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:06 PM
Red_Chili's Avatar
Red_Chili Red_Chili is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 8,409
Default


Yes. *Just* below the headliner. Mounted on a small Ram mount hanging down from the mirror base. The base unit will go under the driver's seat, or perhaps behind a side panel. I have room there too.

The suction cup mount is a possibility (Ram mount makes those too), but I really want something more solid and out of the field of vision, yet visible. Hence, the Ram mount. http://www.gpscity.com/search-a+ball+size
__________________
-Bill Morgan
Heb Dduw, heb ddim; Duw a digon
Abnormally aspirated
KDØRCH
Bio Page
I'm that gun-totin', farm-raised, evangelical, pro-environment, OHV ridin'/drivin', Southern civil rights pro-labor Liberal yo' momma told you couldn't possibly exist.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2008, 02:06 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,953
Default

I got a vent mount very much like that with my Sirius Stiletto 2. I was not impressed. Good way to break your vent IMO.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2008, 03:30 PM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
BTW- why not use CAT 5? It was Dave, or Brian (can't remember) that said not to use phone cable, use CAT 5. Or... I am dreaming. Always a possibility.
Wasn't me, CAT5, plain old twisted-shield phone, whatever. Seems like it would all work fine to me. I dunno.
__________________
'91 Toyota Pickup
'09 Kawasaki KLR650
'12 Gunnar Rockhound 29

"They say the test of literary power is whether a man can write an inscription. I say, 'Can he name a kitten?'" -- Samuel Butler
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2008, 06:26 PM
Tramontana Tramontana is offline
Wincher
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wheat Ridge
Posts: 78
Default Will heat build up be a problem...

...if you bury your base unit under the seat or behind a side panel?

I'm just speculating how much other "stuff" gets shoved under our seats, and behind a panel would pretty much prohibit any air cooling of the radio?

Sounds like good ways to overheat the equipment. But I really don't know squat about this stuff yet. Maybe these are tried and true mount locations?

What is the ideal location?

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.