Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 10-07-2008, 06:13 PM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,500
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

If you need to move it either tow it and pop the clutch or run a hot wire to the starter and start it problem is you don't have the glow plugs to warm the engine which makes it easier, so your battery needs to be good and it may turn over for a little bit before it catches. I thought there were some either 3b or 2h manuals online somewhere. I'll see if I can remember. There were a couple good threads iirc about these solinoids on mud even if if they are 3b they are similar to the 2h.
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:40 PM
gr8fulabe's Avatar
gr8fulabe gr8fulabe is offline
Trail Ready
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boulder Canyon
Posts: 397
Default

The bosses at Erica's work say it is cool for the truck to sit there for a while (but they did say they were going to put their logo's all over it... ).

So I did some more work today, just trying to eliminate things that I know I can do to hopefully find the answer. So I pulled the starter to test it. I jumped it from the battery (used the big, main power line from the battery & then grounded the starter body to the neg. terminal & put a jumper into the, "on switch" plug. The starter turned over perfectly. So then I used a test light to check if that on switch line was getting juice & it is showing juice when you turn the key to, "START". So, I put it all back together, (cleaned up all the connections thinking that would do it) and it still wouldn't turn over at all.
Combine that with the fact that I show amps when the key is at, "ACC", but nothing at all in the, "ON" position, and nothing in, "Start" and I am wondering if one of the grounds (I see several dirty ones under there) from the engine/tranny/etc are not connecting to the frame properly, so that the whole thing isn't grounding correctly.
Does this sound like it could be a real situation, or could I be way off???

Thanks,
Abe
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-09-2008, 09:52 AM
gr8fulabe's Avatar
gr8fulabe gr8fulabe is offline
Trail Ready
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boulder Canyon
Posts: 397
Default

WOOO HOOO! I got it running this morning. I cleaned up the ground straps on it, and it started right up! Funny, I have been cleaning up all sorts of contacts & connections, thinking the power wasn't going through it. If I had just started by cleaning up the ground connections, I could have had it fixed in a half hour...

Thanks a ton for the advice & tips!

Best,
Abe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.