Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-18-2006, 02:39 PM
Snorkel 1's Avatar
Snorkel 1 Snorkel 1 is offline
Wincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 60
Question Using Toyota switches to control ARB compressor and lockers

I know there is a write up on this somewhere, I just can't find it. I am trying to use a Toyota switch to power my ARB compressor and the factory rotary diff lock switch to control the lockers. I ran the ARB wire harness into the cab now I just need to know which wires to connect to the switches. Any suggestions?
__________________
Seth Sauvageau
Rochester, MN
'97 40th Anniversary, OME 2.5" with 35's, ARB bumper & lockers, Warn M12, ICOM radio, CB, dual batteries, auxillary gas tank, etc and now a snorkel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2006, 03:33 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,878
Default

I know nothing, but that's never stopped me from posting before so why start now?

But I do know that Bruce (60wag) has done this in his 60, and he'll be in Moab. and I've seen him trade tech advice for before..
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:18 PM
Rzeppa's Avatar
Rzeppa Rzeppa is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kittredge CO, USA
Posts: 5,136
Default

Ahem, Toyota makes a lot of switches; which are you contemplating using? One that's already there, and if so, which one? Be advised that compressors use a LOT of juice and most dash mounted switches won't be up to the task and would be best controlling a relay.
__________________
Jeff Zepp
Kittredge CO USA
1971 & 1976 FJ40s, 1978 FJ45, 1987 FJ60
Rising Sun 4WD Club, TLCA #4063
http://american3dprinting.net/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:44 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rzeppa
Ahem, Toyota makes a lot of switches; which are you contemplating using? One that's already there, and if so, which one? Be advised that compressors use a LOT of juice and most dash mounted switches won't be up to the task and would be best controlling a relay.
i think he's talking stock 80 switches.
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2006, 01:04 AM
Snorkel 1's Avatar
Snorkel 1 Snorkel 1 is offline
Wincher
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 60
Default

Thank you for the input . I finally figured it all out. I was making it way to complicated at first.

The toyota switch I used was for fog lights fro an earlier model I think. I ran it through the relay included with the ARB wire harness. Seems to work great and the system is holding air. I connected the solenoids to the rotary switch and hooked a couple relays up to the diff lock ECU plug so the diff lock dash lights work also. Now I just need to wrap and route the wires to finish it off.
__________________
Seth Sauvageau
Rochester, MN
'97 40th Anniversary, OME 2.5" with 35's, ARB bumper & lockers, Warn M12, ICOM radio, CB, dual batteries, auxillary gas tank, etc and now a snorkel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.