Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Old 11-16-2017, 04:50 PM
Rock Stacker

Default APRS Setups

What are people using for APRS setups around here?

I'm a fairly new Ham operator - got my license in the summer and have been playing with a little Baofeng HT. I'm shopping for a rig for my truck and want to do APRS and cross-band repeating. Unfortunately I'm on a budget and finding a radio that will do both built-in and cheaply seems to be impossible.

I had my eyes on the Yaesu FTM-100DR with it's built-in APRS but then figured out that it won't do cross-band repeat. I don't think there is anything that can add repeat capability to a radio so now I have in mind to get a radio that will do x-band repeat and cook up my own APRS solution using a phone or a Raspberry Pi or something.....but that's where it gets very vague in my head....

Can anyone offer some ideas and/or guidance?

Thanks,

Chris
Old 11-16-2017, 05:33 PM
Hard Core 4+

https://www.byonics.com/tinytrak4/
ige tlca #1431
62 fj40
65 fj45
71 fj55
78 fj55
95 fzj80
96 fzj80
Old 11-16-2017, 05:48 PM
Trail Ready

for those features, your going to have to pay either way. Your easiest, cleanest method would be to buy a radio with everything. Then you only have one radio to install, one antenna, etc.

Absolute cheapest aprs option - link an android phone to your baofeng. There is a cable for I think $20 or so. There are some big drawbacks to this though. It is not self starting. Requires using your current or an old phone or tablet. So more messing around, power cables, mounts etc. If you just want to mess with it once in a while it will be fine.

A complete stand alone, out only aprs unit from TinyTrack will cost $220
for two way capability the cost goes up another $100 or so. This would be a separate unit from your communications radio.

1996 FZJ80
2000 UZJ100
Old 11-16-2017, 06:18 PM
Hard Core 4+