Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Old 12-03-2009, 11:33 PM
Rising Sun Member

Default Help a guy out with Stereo stuff

Bear with me, as I am an audio newb.

I love to listen to music in my truck. I don't want to pay for high quality sound, and currently have a 60 dollar target special stereo, and all of 60 or 70 bucks into 4 speakers.

I hate having a CD player. I have Sirius radio and an IPOD. A CD deck takes up an absurd amount of room for something I don't use at all any more, plus, even though it is a cheap pile of crap, its a target for theft.

In anticipation of becoming less secure (soft top hopefully), I want some way to have secure sound. I can easily build something locking for the satellite radio and the IPod, but the deck is harder, and I hadn't found a solution until recently.

I saw on Pirate a guy selling and IPOD set up for buggies. It was a marine Amp, with 2 speakers and a connecting wire that had a headphone jack on one end and went to those two connectors on the other, to plug into the amp (red/white, may or may not be called RCA jacks).

I'm assuming this works by the AMP providing power to the speakers and the volume adjust on the IPOD.

This won't work quite for me.

Three issues:

One, I need 2 inputs. From what I saw of his amp, it had only plugs for one input, as it was designed to come from a stereo. I want to run duals so I can have a loose cord for my IPOD, and one that runs into a fixed area that I will build into my new center console for the satellite radio, so It won't rattle.

Two, I need volume control somehow. The satellite radio has an output which takes a headphone jack, but has no way to control the volume.

Three, I don't need the speakers, and they are part of a package deal, at least right now.