Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-09-2010, 11:27 AM
timmbuck2's Avatar
timmbuck2 timmbuck2 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,012
Default new Yaesu FT-7900R...need help please

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH33 View Post
Are you sure you have the offset/tone/enc and all that jive programmed in properly?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInDenver View Post
I was scanning repeaters last night and never heard him either. I didn't hear the 146.460 calls, but because I sit in a radio hole w.r.t Broomfield I never hear them anyway. I need to get an antenna up on the outside of the house one of these years.
I was hitting 145.145 and 146.460 and 145.460 last night around 6 and this morning around 8-8:30. I could hear traffic on 145.145 but they could not hear me, asked repeatedly for a radio check on all stations. Just installed the 7900 yesterday...could hear the 7900 using my handheld on 146.460. Both the handheld and my old 2800 were plug and play, I did not have to do anything that I can remember for them to work. What am I missing?! Would be good to get it all working before I head out to Moab Wednesday night

Thanks!

Timm
__________________
* 00 LC
* 03 LX470 -
* 97 Saab Convertible -
* 99 Saab 9-3 Convertible
* stinky old Ford Diesel tow rig
KDěTIM
TLCA# 15572
TLCA Executive VP 2008-2011
CM Committee Member CM10, CM11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2010, 11:49 AM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

None are plug and play when it comes to using repeaters...Without the right settings it won't "let you in" so to speak...

Did someone program your HT and/or the 2800 for you? Dave downloaded his settings into my HT for me back before the Rubithon for example.

At a bare minimum go to the http://www.colcon.org/repeaters.html and program these into your radio until you can either build a better list or get the software and cable so you can setup the info on the 'puter and then dl it to the 7900

Here is the CRA info for 145.145 and others http://www.w0cra.org/downloads/crainfo.pdf
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2010, 12:16 PM
rover67's Avatar
rover67 rover67 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 5,145
Default

Yeah, You have to program the repeaters in there to be able to work them properly. It will be painfull, but look in the owners manual for the radio and it should walk you thorugh how to program a repeater. I'd at least get the ones that are near your intended route to Moab (Colorado Connection) programmed. 146.460 will work fine with no programming, just know how to switch between the programmed repeaters you add and the 146.460 simplex frequency.
__________________
Marco Capote
KDěGWX
85 FJ60
82 FJ40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2010, 12:38 PM
RicardoJM's Avatar
RicardoJM RicardoJM is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 2,267
Default

It sounds like the others are on to the root of your issue. I've dropped by your desk a couple of times, we should be able confirm this is what is going on in about 5 minutes time. I've printed the pages from your user manual that deal with CTSS.

The 145.145 requires a 107.2 tone.
__________________
Ricardo Maestas - Bio Page
KD0CAW
1999 LX 470, 1971 FJ-40
TLCA #18941
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2010, 12:43 PM
timmbuck2's Avatar
timmbuck2 timmbuck2 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,012
Default

cool, thanks all!!
__________________
* 00 LC
* 03 LX470 -
* 97 Saab Convertible -
* 99 Saab 9-3 Convertible
* stinky old Ford Diesel tow rig
KDěTIM
TLCA# 15572
TLCA Executive VP 2008-2011
CM Committee Member CM10, CM11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2010, 12:50 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,787
Default

For me it's all in the ENC DEC settings- you have to experiment with those until the repeater will recognize you are transmitting, if they're wrong you can still hear the repeater so that's what it sounds like your problem is.. I have the truck at work so only have a few repeaters programmed in, but here they are:

146.805 ENC
145.145 ENC DEC
147.225 ENC DEC
145.310 ENC
145.460 ENC

It also helps if you raise your right foot, and ground your left index finger to the chassis as you program these in...
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.