Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:10 PM
Inukshuk's Avatar
Inukshuk Inukshuk is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,806
Default Air Conditioning Not Cold

My air conditioning is not cold anymore. Can anyone recommend where I should have it looked at, of anything else I should check first?

Compressor works, belt is still there, fuse is good, compressor kicks in.

Thx!
__________________
Daniel Markofsky - Daniel@Markofsky.com KDGWR
Denver, Colorado, TLCA # 9972, http://risingsun4x4club.org/
1993 FZJ80 "enhanced", re-built Engine, and prototype GOBI Stealth roof rack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:59 PM
Dr. Schlegs's Avatar
Dr. Schlegs Dr. Schlegs is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 1,114
Default

Freon leaked out? O-rings dried up and Freon escaped.
__________________
"Keep talking. I'll keep analyzing."
"Bad decisions make great stories."
"40's are only to be sold at estate sales." - Uncle Ben

'72 FJ-40 - 33's, F&R Disc Brake Conversation, rear ARB, sliders, Winch.

'96 FZJ-80 - Borla Exhaust, ARB w/ M8000, OME 3" lift, sliders, 305 BFG KM2, 4.88's and ARBs, and usually dog hair.

TLCA#5366
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:00 PM
rover67's Avatar
rover67 rover67 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 5,418
Default

this close to moab just throw some more freon in it...

I mean, I'm sure it leaked somewhere, but if the compressor still cuts on it still has some freon in it.. It'll leak down again, but deal with it after the trip..
__________________
Marco Capote
KDGWX
85 FJ60
82 FJ40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:02 PM
74fj40's Avatar
74fj40 74fj40 is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to 74fj40 Send a message via MSN to 74fj40
Default

If the r134a leaked out the compressor would definitely not be kicking on as the low pressure sensor the not allow it to.

Are you 100% that the compressor clutch is engaging?
__________________

1997 Honda civic DX( all stock DD)
1972 Toyota FJ40(4" lift, FJ60 axles, FJ60 4speed with split case, 35's, Detroit locker rear, Lockright front, Marlin Highsteer, 105"WB, Saginaw with GM tilt column, soon to have: 30spline longfields, inners/outters, toybox.
1967 Porsche 912(100% stock)


[/font]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:13 PM
Inukshuk's Avatar
Inukshuk Inukshuk is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rover67 View Post
this close to moab just throw some more freon in it...
How?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 74fj40 View Post
If the r134a leaked out the compressor would definitely not be kicking on as the low pressure sensor the not allow it to.

Are you 100% that the compressor clutch is engaging?
Its a 1993 and I believe R-12. Not 100% sure, but engine revs up and nothing sounds or acts out of the ordinary.
__________________
Daniel Markofsky - Daniel@Markofsky.com KDGWR
Denver, Colorado, TLCA # 9972, http://risingsun4x4club.org/
1993 FZJ80 "enhanced", re-built Engine, and prototype GOBI Stealth roof rack
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2010, 08:27 PM
74fj40's Avatar
74fj40 74fj40 is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to 74fj40 Send a message via MSN to 74fj40
Default

Hmm most shops are still able to put R12 in your system if that is the route you choose to go, but R12 is expensive and not something I would want to do twice.
__________________

1997 Honda civic DX( all stock DD)
1972 Toyota FJ40(4" lift, FJ60 axles, FJ60 4speed with split case, 35's, Detroit locker rear, Lockright front, Marlin Highsteer, 105"WB, Saginaw with GM tilt column, soon to have: 30spline longfields, inners/outters, toybox.
1967 Porsche 912(100% stock)


[/font]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:02 PM
ttubb's Avatar
ttubb ttubb is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Crested Butte/Tucson
Posts: 561
Default Freon

There should be a label near the top of the radiator that states R12 or R134.
__________________
KA7TLT - TLCA 13015
"78" FJ-40 - "Marmot" F&R ARB Lockers, OME Suspension, MAF Shackle Rev Kit, 4+ Flip Kit, Rear Disc Brakes, Warn Winch, Safari Snorkel, 4+ Rear bumper/Tire Carrier
"95" FZJ-80 - "White Top" F&R ARB Lockers, Slee F&R Bumper & Sliders, Warn Winch, 35s, Safari Snorkel, Low Range Gears, P/T Kit

"13" Taco 4X4 Extra Cab, Firestone Air Ride, Airstream tow vehicle - "Daily Driver"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2010, 09:04 PM
rover67's Avatar
rover67 rover67 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Boulder, Co
Posts: 5,418
Default

you can go to Autozone and get the fill tube thinggie and a can of freon for pretty cheap.. it comes in a package together. then just hook it up and let it suck it in as it runs.

I know people say it's a no no, but i've mixed 134-a and r 12 and it's been fine. Even put in 134-a on r12 systems without doing the o-ring changes and it has done OK.

The "conversion kits" they sell are just basically o-ring kits and adapters so you can hook up the 134-a fill tube to the r-12 port on the truck

I know that on several cars i've worked on the freon was "low" enough to not cool, but still had enough pressure to kick the low pressure switch on. Usually it just takes a half a can or so to do that.

Look and see if it takes r-12 or 134-a and then go from there. If it takes r-12, you'll need the "conversion kit" and chances are that the kit from autozone will have what you need. just walk in there and tell them what's up and they'll actually be able to help you... I think...
__________________
Marco Capote
KDGWX
85 FJ60
82 FJ40
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2010, 10:07 PM
Inukshuk's Avatar
Inukshuk Inukshuk is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,806
Default label says R-12

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttubb View Post
There should be a label near the top of the radiator that states R12 or R134.
Nice - label says R-12
Attached Images
 
__________________
Daniel Markofsky - Daniel@Markofsky.com KDGWR
Denver, Colorado, TLCA # 9972, http://risingsun4x4club.org/
1993 FZJ80 "enhanced", re-built Engine, and prototype GOBI Stealth roof rack
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-20-2010, 01:53 AM
TIMZTOY's Avatar
TIMZTOY TIMZTOY is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,894
Default

if its r-12 please dont convert it to r134a.. r134a is crap compared to r12.. there is a enviromentally OK verson of r12 that dose not harm the enviroment. and will not harm your system like r134a will. 134a in a 12 system will runin you system and damage componets.. i dont want to get into it.. just go to napa and buy the stuff called "freeze 12" its a epa aproved version of r12..

r12 is colder than r134a
and freeze 12 is colder than r12 ive used it on several cars and it is absoltuatlly wonderfull stuff.. and its only a cupple bucks a can.. basically the same price as r134a use the 134a conversion adaptors so you have the quick disconects (easier to add the freeze 12) because you dont have to find r12 hoses..

granted someone will probly say "no your wrong" well thats because r134a is very cold when used in a r134a designed system.. but NOT in a r12 system..
__________________
TLCA # 20314
84 Hilux, 22re Conversion, 63" chevy rears, Rears up front, Bobbed bed, duel e-lockers, 5.29's, 35" Ground Hogs low compression
Step by Step Bed Bob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.