Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-12-2010, 03:36 PM
girraffe girraffe is offline
Trail Ready
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aurora
Posts: 345
Default 96 FZJ80 check engine light

hey yall does someone have a diagnostic reader?? I just got a 1996 FZJ80 and the check engine light is on. talke to the PO and he said he changed out the O2 sensor and changed the oil etc. and i have no idea what else to check. so if you know some one that has a reader please let me know. Id prefer not to get my butthole reamed out by the dealer...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2010, 03:52 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,791
Default

Drive to AutoZone, they've got readers and can pull/clear the code for you.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2010, 09:49 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

I have a Scangauge II if you want to come all the way down south...I can pull the codes but like Tim says, an Autozone etc. near you would be quicker
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2010, 07:53 AM
LARGEONE's Avatar
LARGEONE LARGEONE is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 611
Default

X3 on the Checker, Autozone, etc. It's free, and you can do it yourself or have them read it for you. Clear the code and see if it comes back right away (depending on what the code is). Then, post up the code and someone can tell you what the likely cause is.
__________________
_______________________________
Paul
Horribly Painted '95 FZJ80 Has Some - Still Needs More!
"Just because California does it, doesn't make it a good idea, or the right way to do it! If you like California so much, please move there. Don't make the rest of us live in the same HORROR!!!"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2010, 09:09 AM
girraffe girraffe is offline
Trail Ready
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aurora
Posts: 345
Default

well i went to checker and it wouldnt read. the plug they had was not as long as my diagnostics port. it fit on there but the plug did not have as many plugs as the port. ill by autozone and see what they have and take a picture.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2010, 09:36 AM
coax's Avatar
coax coax is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Estes Park
Posts: 569
Default

Just out of curiosity you were using the port in the cab of the cruiser and not the one in the engine bay right?
__________________
-Corey
'97 lx450, 170k, factory lockers, ome 850/863, 285's, 4 working doors(1 more than the old fj55 )
'74 project pig (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2010, 10:07 AM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,463
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

if you want to come over and run the code i'll be here all day.
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2010, 10:34 AM
TIMZTOY's Avatar
TIMZTOY TIMZTOY is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,871
Default

Any parts store will scan your computer for free. Autozone, checkers, pepboys, Advanced, possibly napa. But it has to be a 96 and newer. All of the obd2 ports have the same 16 pin connection (government mandate) if it couldn't read, it's problly a "link error" which could be several issues. No power to the link, either a fuse, or ECM fault. Granted the pocket scaners won't read in this instance. But if you pay for a code pull (most Shops are still free) they'll hook up there $5,000.00 scanner which supplys it's own power and should bypass the "link error" issue.
__________________
TLCA # 20314
84 Hilux, 22re Conversion, 63" chevy rears, Rears up front, Bobbed bed, duel e-lockers, 5.29's, 35" Ground Hogs low compression
Step by Step Bed Bob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2010, 01:05 PM
girraffe girraffe is offline
Trail Ready
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Aurora
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coax View Post
Just out of curiosity you were using the port in the cab of the cruiser and not the one in the engine bay right?
HA! no i was running it on the one in the engine bay... didnt know there was one inside... ill disconnect the battery, let the codes clear and check the one on the interior probably tomorrow. wesintl i got a party this afternoon for my daughter otherwise id be over there in a heartbeat. thanks man.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2010, 01:13 PM
coax's Avatar
coax coax is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Estes Park
Posts: 569
Default

Yea that threw me for a loop the first time I tried to check a code. There should be a little fuse pannel by drivers left knee. hth.

Corey
__________________
-Corey
'97 lx450, 170k, factory lockers, ome 850/863, 285's, 4 working doors(1 more than the old fj55 )
'74 project pig (sold)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.