Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-17-2010, 09:26 PM
4runner luv's Avatar
4runner luv 4runner luv is offline
Lifted
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Posts: 104
Default Fuse Block?

I have seen some write ups or mentions of accessory fuse blocks. Can anyone suggest where I might get a decent one at a reasonable price? Actually looking for something that maybe I can wire up so that 4 or 5 fuses are always on, and 4 or 5 are relayed to only be on with the ignition.

Thanks in advance,
Shayn
__________________
1996 4runner Limited, retrofitted E-locker, manual hubs, front King Coilover 2" lift, rear Landcruiser 3" lift, drop panhard bracket, 2000 4runner center console/e-brake conversion, K&N air intake, throttle body spacer, OBX headers.

Stay classy Colorado!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-17-2010, 10:37 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,884
Default

I've had good luck with the Painless ones... the gauge of wire is a little small but as long as you're not going to run anything too crazy off of it, it's fine. http://www.jegs.com/i/Painless+Perfo...70207/10002/-1 you get 3 "always on" and 4 "switched on."

I've got them running light relays, fridges, seat heaters, CB's, other random 12v outlets, multiple LED's, york clutch, more LED's, etc. If you get some big mega amp for the stereo, or a 1000 watt inverter or something, I'd probably run those direct to the battery, but these Painless ones are sweet for little accessories.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2010, 10:50 PM
4runner luv's Avatar
4runner luv 4runner luv is offline
Lifted
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Westminster, Colorado
Posts: 104
Default

Perfect! Thanks.
__________________
1996 4runner Limited, retrofitted E-locker, manual hubs, front King Coilover 2" lift, rear Landcruiser 3" lift, drop panhard bracket, 2000 4runner center console/e-brake conversion, K&N air intake, throttle body spacer, OBX headers.

Stay classy Colorado!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2010, 11:17 PM
DanS's Avatar
DanS DanS is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho Springs
Posts: 448
Default

http://www.keepitcleanwiring.com/cat...ock-with-Cover

I bought them from Yearwood Performance in Albuquerque, but I'm sure they are probably sold in the Denver area too... Happy enough I bought a second one. Half of them powered from one source, the other half from another. One in the 40 (part of the 3B swap) has hot/ACC sections, the other has hot/IGN sections. I used a solenoid from McMaster Carr to control the power for the switched sides, so that the control can handle MUCH more than 30Amps (which is my beef with the Painless ones--and the price).

High quality wire, and 12GA wire throughout. Less than half the price of the painless, but you have to do more--it's JUST a fuse block.

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2010, 11:51 PM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,380
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

I have two of these, one in each Land Cruiser. You can get them from your local West Marine store (there is one on County Line Road).
Attached Images
 
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2010, 01:16 AM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Inside or outside application?

If inside I have one of the ones that Slee installs (or use to anyway) seen HERE

I have just the fuse block, no cover, relay, or anything else. I ended up going the Blue Sea route like Hulk posted up. Mainly because I'm electrically challenged and didn't want to futz with trying to figure out the switched power setup . That and the Blue Sea blocks have ground lugs so once you establish a known good ground to the unit you have known good ground positions on the block. IMO that saves time when wiring stuff up even if I have to run a longer ground wire back to the block vs. finding a ground near whatever it is I'm adding (like my HAM radio).

One issue with the West Marine units is I'm pretty sure they are either all switched or all always on, no split.

If you're interested in the block I didn't use let me know. IIRC it is made by Wrangler.
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:24 AM
coax's Avatar
coax coax is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Estes Park
Posts: 601
Default

Great thread, and just in time! I'm just about to get a fuse block to hook up the aux lights for a (hopefully) upcoming trip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nakman View Post
I've had good luck with the Painless ones... the gauge of wire is a little small but as long as you're not going to run anything too crazy off of it, it's fine. http://www.jegs.com/i/Painless+Perfo...70207/10002/-1 you get 3 "always on" and 4 "switched on."
What wire were you able to tap into for the switched? And is the block installed in the engine bay or in the cab? I was initially thinking of going the blue sea route, but the fact that I'd probably leave something turned on when the car wasn't running makes me reconsider. But the one thing stopping me was trying to figure out which wire to tap for that. I think I read a few folks on mud tap the cig. lighter for in-cab work, but is there something better in the engine bay?
__________________
-Corey
'97 lx450, 170k, factory lockers, ome 850/863, 285's, 4 working doors(1 more than the old fj55 )
'74 project pig (sold)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-18-2010, 08:36 AM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coax View Post
Great thread, and just in time! I'm just about to get a fuse block to hook up the aux lights for a (hopefully) upcoming trip.



What wire were you able to tap into for the switched? And is the block installed in the engine bay or in the cab? I was initially thinking of going the blue sea route, but the fact that I'd probably leave something turned on when the car wasn't running makes me reconsider. But the one thing stopping me was trying to figure out which wire to tap for that. I think I read a few folks on mud tap the cig. lighter for in-cab work, but is there something better in the engine bay?
I've got both- one inside in the rear cargo area, and one under the hood. I would recommend you put it inside, presuming most of your accessories will also be inside, as my grommet on the DS firewall is completely packed with wires...


I am tapping into the fuse block that's by your left knee, into the radio fuse, for the pink wire that triggers the relay to turn on the accessory-only fuses. Yeah there's probably something in the engine bay too, you just need it to be 12v when the key is on, and nothing when the key is off.. the only load is enough juice to flip a relay.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2010, 09:19 AM
Jacket's Avatar
Jacket Jacket is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 3,963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulk View Post
I have two of these, one in each Land Cruiser. You can get them from your local West Marine store (there is one on County Line Road).
This is what I use as well - very nice product and a good price ($40-50). I always run a heavyish gauge wire (6 or 8 awg depending on load and length) from the battery into the cab and to the fuse block. Make sure you include an in-line fusible link if you run off the battery. Then you can just run small wires from the block to the accessories.
__________________
- Matt
1976 FJ40 - green and mostly stock
1996 FZJ80 - not so stock
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2010, 11:16 AM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,380
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacket View Post
Make sure you include an in-line fusible link if you run off the battery. Then you can just run small wires from the block to the accessories.
I didn't do this -- should I get one? Where would I find such an item?

Pardon my ignorance: why do I need this? It's a fuse for the fuse box?
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.