Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Chit Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 08-01-2013, 05:06 PM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,853
Default

Ok we are doing this!

Just ordered digital roof antenna and cancelling Directv..

From some of my research, looks like I can tap into my Directv cable splitters that go into the house. So skipping the attic solution, so I don't have to drill wholes.

So next step is figuring out the receiver/TV connections. Can I use the Directv reciever if they don't want it back? Right now I am getting everything in from Directv, then into my Yamaha HD receiver then out to the TV.
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-05-2013, 08:50 PM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,404
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caribou Sandstorm View Post
From some of my research, looks like I can tap into my Directv cable splitters that go into the house. So skipping the attic solution, so I don't have to drill wholes.
This should work just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caribou Sandstorm View Post
Can I use the Directv receiver if they don't want it back? Right now I am getting everything in from Directv, then into my Yamaha HD receiver then out to the TV.
I doubt you can use the DirecTV receiver for anything. But you should be able to go directly into your TV, assuming that it has a built-in digital tuner. Then send the audio out to your Yamaha receiver.
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-06-2013, 09:27 AM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulk View Post
This should work just fine.



I doubt you can use the DirecTV receiver for anything. But you should be able to go directly into your TV, assuming that it has a built-in digital tuner. Then send the audio out to your Yamaha receiver.
Thanks Matt! Yep the DirecTV receiver has been cut off. That was a great phone call, "nope, just cancelling, thanks" Melinda and I have gone through some withdrawls but my new antenna arrived yesterday.

I was thinking of installing it at the highest point on the roof like off of the back of the chimney. Would be great if I could install it just above the DirecTV dish though. Do I need line of sight with Downtown or Lookout Mtn?

Also, Ben was getting pretty good at surfing channels and then getting scared off by commercials. Melinda and I were just commenting on how relieved we were feeling to be back in control of what the kids were watching.

For us, we just don't need the violence in our house and it always feels like it is lurking behind the next commercial. I really enjoyed watching sports and the bummer about that is they have the worst commercials.

We are sort of considering a 14.00 Tivo account, so that we can have the same DVR capability as we did with DirecTV. Might wait on that until we see what kind of channels we get with the Antenna.
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-06-2013, 01:37 PM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,853
Default

Ok so why stop there...

Decided to switch from Century Link to Comcast internet. Faster, more reliable and 20.00 less per month. Canceling land line also since we only use it for ADT. ADT has a cell service now, 15.00 per month additional and 99.00 for installation of the new panel.

Comcast has 25mbps for 29.00 per month for internet.

With dumping Directv, Century Link and picking up Comcast internet/ADT wireless service, we save close to $2000.00 per year. There is our family vacation! next year.
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com

Last edited by Caribou Sandstorm; 08-06-2013 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-06-2013, 03:22 PM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,554
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

2k you were spending on internet and TV? that's a lot of porn.
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-06-2013, 03:36 PM
Jacket's Avatar
Jacket Jacket is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 4,039
Default

I need to do this. Keep posting the details....
__________________
- Matt
1976 FJ40 - green and mostly stock
1996 FZJ80 - not so stock
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-06-2013, 03:40 PM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacket View Post
I need to do this. Keep posting the details....
What about the porn or savings on porn?
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-06-2013, 04:00 PM
MountainGoat's Avatar
MountainGoat MountainGoat is offline
Club Treasurer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Conifer, CO
Posts: 1,070
Default

Who the hell spends money on porn?
__________________
Dan Kucera
TLCA# 17536
KDWJO

67 FJ40 LC Tan
94 RN101 PU Pewter
95 FZJ80 LC Red
99 UZJ100 LC Black
00 VZN185 4Runner Highlander Jade
00 VZN185 4Runner SR5 Desert Dune
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-06-2013, 04:00 PM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,853
Default

All done and set!

ADT shows up Thursday to install new panel with wireless.. 99.00 install fee is allegedly a good deal, as it was 279.00, bla, bla, bla.... But 15.00 per month for this additional service with ADT, is $35.00 less than my Century Link land line and one less bill to deal with.

Comcast shows up Thursday afternoon to install cable from alley way to house, one hole to drill (yikes, ugh..). Putting that right in the 's office location, so Melinda gets the best internet connection and I don;t have to hear that the "wireless internet is not working"

Then I run 2 cat 5 lines (do you still call it that?) from the modem/router, one to the internet enabled DVR in the family room and one to the WII in the basement for that TV. Connect my wireless N router to the new modem, as well, so I get wireless to my office.

Digital Antenna is here so gotta get that installed this weekend. There goes my Crested Butte weekend plans..

Finally thinking about TIvo still.. that would be 14 per month vs. 80 to Directv, still not a bad deal. And with all my install charges, I am still ahead of what this months bills would have been.. We like TIVO/DVR cause we can watch the news channels when we want and skip commercials. I am thinking that is gotta be worth 14.00 per month.

Am I missing anything?

A lot of work but saves a bunch and keeps us in control of what the kids are watching
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-06-2013, 04:13 PM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,945
Default

Good work, Chris! We keep the land line just for the alarm as well... we don't have ADT and last I checked they didn't have a cell phone option, I should look into that again.

And if you're running the cable yourself get CAT6 line, not CAT5. It's one notch bigger, same 8 colors, but my success rate with terminating the ends is much higher with the 6 than it was with the smaller 5. Do you have a crimper? You can borrow mine, I have a bunch of ends too... lmk I could bring it down tomorrow.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.