Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Old 01-27-2011, 04:05 PM
Hard Core 4+

Default 80 series brake rotor/pad combo

MUD tech has become so diluted lately I figured I'd ask here.

I need to do the front axle service this year before CM. Figure I'll throw on new rotors and pads while in there. I have 57K on the current parts. Still OK, but nearing end of life.

Planning DBA 4000 6x6 wiper slot rotors and 100 series OEM pads.

What say you?
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Old 01-27-2011, 04:19 PM
Hard Core 4+

I've no experience with that combo, but the only thing I remember reading on mud is that the 100 series toyota pads works with the 80 series toyota rotor. Meaning some folks were having issues with aftermarket stuff being a bit thicker than OEM and not quite fitting.

How long have folks been getting out of the 80 series pads? My understanding is that the 100 pads give you longer life due to larger surface area, but that's it. For my usage, I don't need extended life out of brake pads as I don't put that many miles on the cruiser in a year.

When I did my brake job I got napa rotors and OEM 80 series pads. Seem to be doing ok. I did notice a slight warp in one of the rotors up in Jackson hole, coming down teton pass in 10 below weather. I suspect it was a temporary thing due to extreme variations in temps, as its not present any more.
Old 01-27-2011, 04:28 PM
Rising Sun Member

That's the combo I'm running (DBA slotted and OE 100 pads) and have no complaints. The shims won't fit behind the pads due to pad thickness but I've had no noise issues that make me want the shims.
"If you know what you're doing, then you aren't learning anything." - A. Lincoln
Old 01-27-2011, 04:34 PM
Hard Core 4+

Christo?
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Old 01-27-2011, 04:43 PM
Cruise Moab Committee

Send a message via AIM to Hulk

I'm running 100 series pads with stock rotors. No room for shims. Much longer life.
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY