Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Old 07-24-2011, 05:53 PM
Lifted

Default Setting a mobile up for home use...

So, I plan to install my Yaesu FT-2900R so that it is easily removable. I'd like to be able to set it up in my basement as well. I just sold the topper off my 89 Toyota Pickup for $300, so I have that much to mess with.

I see Yaesu shows a power supply (the FP-1030A) which seems to retail around $250-$260. Can't I just go with something like this QJE PS-30SWII 30 AMP Power Supply for $99...not sure if there is something special with the Yaesu one or not. If I can go with that, it would leave me around $200 for an antenna setup...I have no clue here...is that enough for a decent 2m antenna?

I don't want to spend a whole lot more than that, since I'm new to the hobby and want to make sure I love it before dropping tons on gear...besides I need $ to spend on my FJ60...

P.S. What are the best forums for a new HAM? I see eham, qrz, hamradioforum, worldwidedx... I'd like to join one.

Last edited by daveIT; 07-24-2011 at 05:58 PM. Reason: ?
Old 07-24-2011, 06:14 PM
Hard Core 4+

The reason the Yaesu is $250 is that it's (1) made in Japan, (b) well made in Japan, (3) a well made in Japan linear supply and (d) well made in Japan linear supply /by the people who designed it./

That said, it really is a very highly priced supply compared to the market and there's no reason you need to spend that much on a supply. It's by no means a bad supply, but about 50% or more overpriced.

Now the QJE, that's is a Chinese copy of the Alinco DM-330MVT, which if you're gonna steal someone's design is one very good switching supply. The Alinco is a VERY highly regarded supply.

http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamps/4082.html