Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 05-15-2012, 02:41 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmccumber View Post
I've had a Prodigy for 6 years and really like it. I mounted my on the IO panel on the left. I ordered a second IO panel so I don't have to look at the brake controller when I'm not using it. Did the same thing in the 4Runner.
Picture?

Quote:
Originally Posted by corsair23 View Post

MUD thread that you might have already read --> http://forum.ih8mud.com/80-series-te...ontroller.html

Seen that thread. Surprisingly there is not much on MUD

I'm surprised OEM brake controllers are not more common at this point. Pretty much any pick-up or full sized SUV should offer one as an option IMO
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-15-2012, 02:49 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,698
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corbet View Post
Seen that thread. Surprisingly there is not much on MUD

I'm surprised OEM brake controllers are not more common at this point. Pretty much any pick-up or full sized SUV should offer one as an option IMO
Agreed, but AFAIK only some of the full size domestics have integrated brake controllers.

I can tell you though that having an OEM harness ready and available to just plug into vs. having to hack into wiring and running wiring is a HUGE bonus...When I owned my Durango it took me all of 1/2 hour to install the brake controller...Simple plug and play and I spent more time determining where to mount the controller than installing it. That can't be said for installing a brake controller in an 80 though...Just the contortions required to splice into the brake switch brings back bad memories - the rest of the install isn't difficult, just time consuming. Toyota just didn't build the 80s with towing in mind but I'm not sure many manufacturers during that time did.

I wonder, does the 100 series have an OEM harness for plug and play brake controller connection? I'm guessing most rigs capable of towing and built from 1999 on do.
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-15-2012, 03:04 PM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,579
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corbet View Post
I'm surprised OEM brake controllers are not more common at this point. Pretty much any pick-up or full sized SUV should offer one as an option IMO
All the big three offer brake controllers as options or park of packages for towing. You can buy the oem one later and install it too. I don't know if they are any good or worse than something like the Tekonsha's.
__________________
See you on the trail
WěREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-15-2012, 10:09 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,989
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wesintl View Post
All the big three offer brake controllers as options or park of packages for towing. You can buy the oem one later and install it too. I don't know if they are any good or worse than something like the Tekonsha's.
I know you can get them in the 3/4 & 1 tons. Maybe even 1/2 tons now, I've been out of it for a few years thankfully. But I don't recall Toyota offering one in a Tundra. They should. A 200 series too IMO. I just hate extra crap bolted, velcro'd, or adhered in some stupid way to my dash.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-16-2012, 06:15 AM
FJBRADY's Avatar
FJBRADY FJBRADY is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch
Posts: 2,040
Default

I have a prodigy in the Tundra (07). It has a wiring harness ready to go under the dash....installed in 10 minutes.
__________________
Steve Brady
TLCA # 19524
KD0JVZ

97 LX450
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-16-2012, 07:03 AM
Red_Chili's Avatar
Red_Chili Red_Chili is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 8,409
Default

Hmmm... I wonder how the '02 PSD Supercab with towing package is set up...

Corbet, I'd offer you mine for free, but it is marginal. U-Haul special. You probably won't like it... I did use a phat trailer harness connector with it to make it easily removable.
__________________
-Bill Morgan
Heb Dduw, heb ddim; Duw a digon
Abnormally aspirated
KDěRCH
Bio Page
I'm that gun-totin', farm-raised, evangelical, pro-environment, OHV ridin'/drivin', Southern civil rights pro-labor Liberal yo' momma told you couldn't possibly exist.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-16-2012, 07:15 AM
ScaldedDog's Avatar
ScaldedDog ScaldedDog is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 528
Default

Bill, it probably has the pigtail under the dash, unless a previous owner has done something with it. You can search around FTE and see pics of exactly where to find it. I put my controller in the cubby, which I assume yours has, as well.

Prodigy, FTW. No sense buying anything else.

Mark
__________________
''Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools,
because they have to say something.'' - Plato

http://www.scaldeddog.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-16-2012, 07:27 AM
ScaldedDog's Avatar
ScaldedDog ScaldedDog is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 528
Default

Here's a pic from FTE:



The guy is pointing at the plug, and pic was taken with the fuse panel cover - right in front of your knees - removed, and facing the center of the vehicle.

[/hijack]

Mark
__________________
''Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools,
because they have to say something.'' - Plato

http://www.scaldeddog.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-16-2012, 07:56 AM
Red_Chili's Avatar
Red_Chili Red_Chili is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Littleton CO
Posts: 8,409
Default

No pic! BTW, Mark, thanks again for the very good advice and perspective.
__________________
-Bill Morgan
Heb Dduw, heb ddim; Duw a digon
Abnormally aspirated
KDěRCH
Bio Page
I'm that gun-totin', farm-raised, evangelical, pro-environment, OHV ridin'/drivin', Southern civil rights pro-labor Liberal yo' momma told you couldn't possibly exist.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-16-2012, 08:29 AM
ScaldedDog's Avatar
ScaldedDog ScaldedDog is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
No pic! BTW, Mark, thanks again for the very good advice and perspective.
Happy to help. I joke that I'm a smooth talking sales guy by day, and a Carhartt-wearing diesel mechanic at night. Of course, those who know me know that I'm neither all that smooth talking, nor all that great a mechanic, but I do love me some Carhartt.

Mark
__________________
''Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools,
because they have to say something.'' - Plato

http://www.scaldeddog.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.