Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-30-2012, 08:42 PM
subzali's Avatar
subzali subzali is offline
Rising Sun member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 7,579
Default Speedometer weirdness

Things seem slow these days, so let's spice it up

A couple years back my speedo died. It wasn't the first time, and the first time it happened it was the cable that broke so I figured it would be the same thing this time. Well so after a couple of years I finally get around to replacing the speedo cable (thanks AHorseThief! ) and lo and behold - it works!




For a little bit.




After a while of driving (usually at highway speeds, but not always), all of the sudden the needle will drop to nothing.

But then after driving a little longer, or changing speeds like going on the trail, it'll come back up again. And then it'll drop. And then it'll register 15-20 when I'm doing 45-50. And then it'll die again. And then after I've let it sit for a couple weeks and drive it around on the street again it works fine.

How can that be!?!?!?!?

It's as tight as I can get it without cutting my fingers (why is that thing so freakin' sharp!?!?!?), it's screwed all the way in to the speedo housing, so I can't think of anything else it could be, unless it's internal to the speedometer or internal to the speedo housing, which could both be possible. I guess that's where it's likely to be, I just can't think that those nylon gears could slip enough to slip sometimes, but then still have enough to grab and hold sometimes. Strange.
__________________
Matt Miller
TLCA# 13684
Rising Sun Bio
1977 FJ40 2F "Brahma" + Lockright, tach, Warn 8274, FJ60 Power Steering, soon to lose the Sanden OBA to go back to factory emissions
1996 FZJ80 1FZ-FE factory lockers + Safari Turbo , CDL switch, cup holder, AATLAS1X leather, heated seats and JDM switches
2000 Tundra Limited TRD 2UZ-FE SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2012, 06:28 AM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,562
Default

Sounds to me like the cable is broken, just sometimes the break lines up and it works fine until it doesn't again.
__________________
'91 Toyota Pickup
'09 Kawasaki KLR650
'12 Gunnar Rockhound 29

"They say the test of literary power is whether a man can write an inscription. I say, 'Can he name a kitten?'" -- Samuel Butler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2012, 07:40 AM
subzali's Avatar
subzali subzali is offline
Rising Sun member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 7,579
Default

I thought about that, but I routed it as straight as I possibly could, and it happened almost immediately (within an hour or so of driving). I guess I could take it off and check.
__________________
Matt Miller
TLCA# 13684
Rising Sun Bio
1977 FJ40 2F "Brahma" + Lockright, tach, Warn 8274, FJ60 Power Steering, soon to lose the Sanden OBA to go back to factory emissions
1996 FZJ80 1FZ-FE factory lockers + Safari Turbo , CDL switch, cup holder, AATLAS1X leather, heated seats and JDM switches
2000 Tundra Limited TRD 2UZ-FE SOLD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2012, 07:53 AM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,562
Default

What about the socket in the speedometer itself, is it rounded?
__________________
'91 Toyota Pickup
'09 Kawasaki KLR650
'12 Gunnar Rockhound 29

"They say the test of literary power is whether a man can write an inscription. I say, 'Can he name a kitten?'" -- Samuel Butler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2012, 08:03 AM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,989
Default

Mine did the same years ago. A 2nd new cable fixed it. Or the process of installing the 2nd new cable fixed it? But I agree something is broken or extremely worn and lining up occasionally to make it work.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2012, 08:35 AM
FJBRADY's Avatar
FJBRADY FJBRADY is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Highlands Ranch
Posts: 2,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subzali View Post
Things seem slow these days, so let's spice it up
Ok

Attached Images
 
__________________
Steve Brady
TLCA # 19524
KD0JVZ

97 LX450
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-31-2012, 08:42 AM
SteveH SteveH is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Colo Springs
Posts: 1,295
Default

You might pull the speedo cable and drive with it poking out of (or under) the dash and watch to be sure the cable spins as it should when the truck is moving. I might even grab it with my fingers while driving, to be sure it turns strongly and doesn't slip or skip. If the cable turns as it should, then it's likely internal to the speedo head.
__________________
Steve H.
Colo Springs, CO
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-31-2012, 10:04 AM
60wag's Avatar
60wag 60wag is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,796
Default

Maybe the square hole in either the speedo head or in the tcase in worn enough that the cable slips in it?
__________________
Bruce
'96FZJ80
'03 KTM 450EXC
"If you know what you're doing, then you aren't learning anything." - A. Lincoln
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-31-2012, 03:34 PM
nattybumppo's Avatar
nattybumppo nattybumppo is offline
Rising Sun Secretary
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Northwest Denver
Posts: 1,152
Default

So I have to ask...did you replace it with a new cable from Toyota, or a used one?
__________________
Sascha Steinway TLCA # 20217
1977 FJ40 "Ripper" (because it shreds!) (What is a "shread"...Steve Crase)
1988 FJ62 "Dino" OME, now in the hands of my daughter
2013 F-150 "Black Ops"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2012, 06:22 PM
Air Randy's Avatar
Air Randy Air Randy is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 2,804
Default

I installed a new speedo cable in the Mule last Saturday prior to selling it. I got one from CCOT which was MUCH cheaper than an oem unit and it fit and worked great. I would suggest getting one of those before putting in another used one.

I thinking someone else suggested it but pull the internal cable all the way out of the sheath. That will tell you if it is broken or not, you can also inspect both ends closely at the same time. Lube it with something when you feed it back in.
__________________
Randy Rosetta KDKWX TLCA #19351 69 FJ40 "Meanie" & 1970 Boss 302 Mustang
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.