Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-10-2012, 08:47 AM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,857
Default Hot tub wiring

So I am getting a hot tub and wonder how tough it is to get 220 wired for it.

Gas is not really on my wish list.

Has anyone done this in a DIY format?

I have a separate junction box for the garage with the adequate space for the power, just need to figure out how to get the power to the tub.
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2012, 09:04 AM
euroford's Avatar
euroford euroford is offline
Lifted
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisville
Posts: 173
Default

its not to bad, i hate doing elec stuff and just google searching i managed to come up with enough knowledge to hook up the welders, the hot tub, the sump pump and all of that stuff. by far the most unpleasant part is getting the wiring through the house, I have a ranch style home so i have full access end to end through the basement and attic. I hope your that lucky as a more complicated floorplan to turn that into a nightmare!
__________________
Tim M Hovey
1950 cj3a: FJ60 Axles, brakes, and steering, Willy's
sheetmetal and a Buick engine, held together with
metal from the scrap yard glued together in a garage in
Louisville and dragged around behind a F350 Diesel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2012, 01:46 PM
MDH33's Avatar
MDH33 MDH33 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Land of Corn
Posts: 5,786
Default

I replaced the heater and control box in ours last year myself and had to switch from a 3 wire to 4 wire 220. But, I ended up paying an electrician to do the new wire run between the control and main house fuse panel because I was freaked out about lots of electricity controlling a big tub of water. It was simple though, and I think the wire ended up costing more than the electrician. I thought it was worth it to have the expert do it and he ended up finding a ground issue I would have otherwise missed.
__________________
--Martin

'85 FJ60
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2012, 03:33 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,715
Default

easy. shut off the main power supply, run the wires, hook em up, turn power on. just have to know what size wire to run. i just finished running a 50a circuit for the welder/plasma since the only 220 outlet that i had was in the far corner of the garage.

if you need 6/3 romex, i can make you a deal on about 18'
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2012, 10:03 AM
FJCDan FJCDan is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Denver
Posts: 309
Default

Chris when I had mine installed you need a 50 amp breaker that is at least 10 feet from tub on outside of house. I don't know if code has changed, but you may need a permit and inspection. Dan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2012, 10:09 AM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FJCDan View Post
Chris when I had mine installed you need a 50 amp breaker that is at least 10 feet from tub on outside of house. I don't know if code has changed, but you may need a permit and inspection. Dan
Thanks Dan and all that have chimed in..
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2012, 11:01 AM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,970
Default

Chris, its not really any harder than 110 once you understand the wiring principles of 220. Just check your local codes for placement and distance from your hot tub (water source) and do it. If in doubt use the next heaver gauge wire for any given distance. And I would place an outside breaker near the tub whether code calls for it or not. Just easier in the long run.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2012, 03:33 PM
Caribou Sandstorm's Avatar
Caribou Sandstorm Caribou Sandstorm is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,857
Default

Thanks Corbet!

Here is what I got today.. It was tough choosing this over maybe a 40 but I really have wanted one of these for post skiing days forever..

http://www.sundancespas.com/680series/peyton/

I think I did ok on price. 6400.00 includes Uncle Sam's take, delivery, cover, cover lift, chemicals, seats 6, 36 inches high..

Sundance uses a UV water cleaning light, so chemicals are minimal.

Got it from Spa Palace in Westminster off of Wads and 101st, Ryan is the sales guy. Really nice guy. Today was the last day of some truck sale...

The PO department is wondering why this did not go through the proper approval process and is having a hard time accepting this as worthy of emergency purchase status...
__________________
Chris in Denver
01 UZJ100
TLCA# 18518
KD0IFE

Off Road Pics
http://www.Chrissandstormfj.smugmug.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2012, 04:22 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,970
Default

Now just make sure you put it under the zip line
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-11-2012, 07:24 PM
Rzeppa's Avatar
Rzeppa Rzeppa is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kittredge CO, USA
Posts: 5,222
Default

I just cracked open my copy of the NEC (National Electrical Code) Book and checked into hot tub and spa requirements. I should hope you would have known intuitively that everything needs to run through GFIs (Ground Fault Interrupters). Also, all wiring needs to be in conduit, and there are specific burial requirements. The spa and hot tub subsection is about 3 pages, the entire section (which also covers swimming pools and fountains) is about 21 pages.

I would bet a 6-pack that a hot tub install would require pulling a permit and passing inspection in most municipalities.

I would be comfortable doing this myself if I were interested in having a hot tub. It isn't rocket science, but there are very specific requirements.
__________________
Jeff Zepp
Kittredge CO USA
1971 & 1976 FJ40s, 1978 FJ45, 1987 FJ60
Rising Sun 4WD Club, TLCA #4063
http://american3dprinting.net/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.