Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Chit Chat

Old 01-28-2013, 08:12 AM
Hard Core 4+

Default Lasik opinions wanted

I am thinking of having it done and want opinions and references. I have had contacts since I was 15 and I guess its time.
Gary
Old 01-28-2013, 10:15 AM
Cruise Moab Committee

Quote:
Originally Posted by waggoner5 View Post
I am thinking of having it done and want opinions and references. I have had contacts since I was 15 and I guess its time.
Gary
I had the radial kerototomy surgery done on my eyes back in the early 90's when Lasik was just coming into vogue. They couldnt do lasik on me because my eyes were so bad. I was even borderline for the RK surgery. But since I was a cop and almost legally blind if my glasses got knocked off, they did it for me.

Because they had to make so many cuts to correct my astygmatism, I had a lot of issues early on with starbursting at night with lights and I lost some of my night vision.

But in the end, it was SO MUCH BETTER not having to wear glasses. I always water skied, scuba dived and did lots of other activities and now I could see without glasses and really enjoy them.

Nowadays Lasik is very refined and pretty safe. I would do it again myself in a heartbeat especially if I could have gotten lasik instead of RK. There is always a very small risk of something going wrong, but that can happen too when getting a flu shot. As long as the doctor doesn't think you are at high risk for some reason, I would do it.

I went to Dr. Dishler for my RK and I know he has been doing Lasik for like 25 years.
Randy Rosetta KDKWX TLCA #19351 69 FJ40 "Meanie" & 1970 Boss 302 Mustang
Old 01-28-2013, 10:34 AM
Lifted

Had mine done 7 years ago - monovision - very happy with the results.
Dr William Hines - hines-sight.com
Team doctor for many of the Denver sports teams.
Old 01-28-2013, 10:51 AM
Hard Core 4+