Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Old 04-16-2007, 12:46 AM
Cruise Moab Committee

Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default N00b Ham questions

I warn you: I tend to ask really stupid questions when I'm new to something. Lot and lots of them. Eventually, I'll know enough that I'll stop.

Question one:
My CSCE (Certificate of Successful Completion of Examination) says that I have earned this new license class:
TECHNICIAN w/HF

Does that mean I have some HF privileges? I thought the technician level granted only VHF and UHF.
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Old 04-16-2007, 01:04 AM
Rising Sun Member

You get privileges on 10 meter from 28.000 to 28.300 CW, RTTY & data and 28.300 to 28.500 CW and SSB phone. 200 watts PEP. You also get a small sliver of 15 meters, 40 meters and 80 meters IIRC (Nathaniel can fill you in on these) but it's CW (code) only on the lower bands

Last edited by Seldom Seen; 04-16-2007 at 01:46 AM.
Old 04-16-2007, 11:04 AM
Cruise Moab Committee

Is anybody running HF in their rigs, or does that require so much antenna that it makes it a logistical PITA? Just curious -- some of the radios, like the FT-8900, offer quad band: the 8900 is a 29/50/144/430 MHz FM Transceiver. The Yaesu FT-100D looks way cool as well.
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

Old 04-16-2007, 12:07 PM
Rising Sun Member