Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:14 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default Another noob CB question...

Firestik didn't answer this question when I asked (too busy busting my chops about taking a Lexus to Moab ) so I'm coming to you all


I bought a quick disconnect antenna mount and I am wondering...

Do I attach the antenna to the quick disconnect and then the quick disconnect to the spring mount and use them all together? I assume it would be the spring mount first, then quick disconnect dealyo, then antenna?

Or do I only use one or the other .

The FAQs state not using a spring mount can damage the antenna but I didn't read anywhere that it was ok to use the both the QD and the spring together.

Told you it was a noob question
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater

Last edited by corsair23; 04-27-2007 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:17 PM
Shark Bait's Avatar
Shark Bait Shark Bait is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 4,559
Default

Jeff, if you want to just borrow my Wilson mag mount you're welcome to. The only time it ever came off was when I went under a low hanging branch that swept it off.
__________________
Chris Hatfield, TLCA# 2768, KCZAB
Ad Sales Manager, Toyota Trails/tlca.org
'07 GS350


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:28 PM
Hulk's Avatar
Hulk Hulk is offline
Cruise Moab Committee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Side!
Posts: 11,396
Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Default

I don't know anyone who uses a spring mount. The antenna has enough flex that you'll be fine.
__________________
Matt Farr, Centennial, Colorado | Webmaster: TLCA.org
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:42 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark Bait View Post
Jeff, if you want to just borrow my Wilson mag mount you're welcome to. The only time it ever came off was when I went under a low hanging branch that swept it off.
Chris,

Thanks for the offer! I'm good to go pretty much though. I just have to run the replacement cable that arrived yesterday with my 4' antenna...Shouldn't take me but 1/2 hr to run it, solder it, connect it, and be done . I'm somewhat "experienced" on this now
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2007, 05:44 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hulk View Post
I don't know anyone who uses a spring mount. The antenna has enough flex that you'll be fine.
Thanks Matt. It didn't break off when I drove out of the garage the other night and I hit it on the top of the garage door so I imagine it will be fine. Wouldn't take but a minute to add it in though.
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2007, 06:03 PM
ScaldedDog's Avatar
ScaldedDog ScaldedDog is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 521
Default

I use a spring mount, then the quick disconnect on top connected to the antenna. Works fine.

Mark
__________________
''Wise men talk because they have something to say; fools,
because they have to say something.'' - Plato

http://www.scaldeddog.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2007, 07:06 PM
Three Wheel Ben's Avatar
Three Wheel Ben Three Wheel Ben is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Centennial
Posts: 410
Default

Jeff, I don't think it matters how or which pieces you use, just tune it before you transmit. It will definitely tune different with and without the spring. I would set it up how you like then hook the swr get it tuned and never screw with it again.
__________________
KC0ZBI
85 4Runner, 1UZ in process
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2007, 08:18 PM
gahi's Avatar
gahi gahi is offline
Locked
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Moab, UT
Posts: 236
Default

How do you tune them?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2007, 09:56 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gahi View Post
How do you tune them?
It probably depends on the antenna. On the Firestiks I have there is a tuning screw on top that you use. You can either take it to a radio shop (see my other CB threads) or buy a SWR meter. Radio Shack sells a basic one for $50 --> SWR Meter

Not sure how well it works. If you only have one antenna it might not be worth the cost of buying a meter. If you have multiple antennas to tune might be cost effective to buy a meter.

Lot of good tech stuff on www.firestik.com


Thanks to everyone else for their thoughts
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:52 AM
powderpig's Avatar
powderpig powderpig is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,341
Default

If you are going to Moab, I can bring mine if you need one. I will check later today before I leave to see if you need it or call me at home 303-665-1101. later robbie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.