Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:34 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,708
Default computer tech

installed a new writeable dvd drive in place of a busted one (e. when unhooking it, i also unhooked the other drive (d. now, my computer doesn't show either drive existing. how can i get the computer to search for them?

edit, i did try add hardware, but computer still didn't find them
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:38 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,046
Default

So how did you hook it up.

I will guess that you hooked this up via an IDE cable. Thats the ribbon cable that comes from the motherboard.

The IDE port the cable is tied to will have an option for a Master and Slave on the same Cable. If you have both set as master or both set as slave, neither will show up.

On some computers you have to go to BIOS settings (press delete when booting) to set up an IDE drive, some you do not.

Could also be a driver issue. Your running windows XP, did the box say XP compatible?
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:44 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,708
Default

i am running xp. when i got it at microcenters, i told the salesman that. he said this would plug right in and that all the settings should be correct.

it is connected by the ribbon cable. there were two originally, i unhooked one and removed one. installed new one in place of removed one, plugged both in and hooked computer back up.
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:50 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,708
Default

found both drives in device manager and properties on both show they are working properly, but my computer still doesn't show them.
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:51 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,046
Default

how many things are on that one cable? If you have two items on their they both could be set as master or one cable select (C/S) and the other not. If the other drive is not your hardrive, I would disconnect it from the ribbon cable and see if thet does anything. If it recognizes it, its likely a master/slave cable issue and you need to look at the jumpers on the back of each drive.

If it doesn't recognzie it, I would go into Control Pannel and click add a device and see if it finds it, if not try and do a manual look

Also, in Control Panel, you need to get to Device Manager, might be in System . Open that up and see if there are any X or yellow marks on any devices.
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:52 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclearlemon View Post
found both drives in device manager and properties on both show they are working properly, but my computer still doesn't show them.

Ok your ahead of me. Might not be the right driver though. Have you tried a google search or using the microsoft web site?
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:54 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romer View Post
Ok your ahead of me. Might not be the right driver though. Have you tried a google search or using the microsoft web site?
huh?
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:56 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclearlemon View Post
huh?
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q...cant+see+drive
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-16-2008, 09:59 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,046
Default

Did the drive come with a driver disk or CD? Might be the driver and thats why it can't see it.

If you can't get it to work in the next few days, I'll drop up and take a look at it for you.

Past my bed time now
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:01 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,708
Default

computer originally came with a dvdrom and a rewriteable. the rewriteable puked. if that's what you're asking
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.