Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:04 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 6,932
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuclearlemon View Post
computer originally came with a dvdrom and a rewriteable. the rewriteable puked. if that's what you're asking
No, what I am asking is there a floppy or CD ROM/DVD that came in the box with the new drive? That would be a disk with new drivers.


Did you follow the install manual or just plug it in ?
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper
09 BMW Z4 sDrive30i
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:05 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,665
Default

no programs came with it. no manuals...no nothing.
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:06 PM
Shark Bait's Avatar
Shark Bait Shark Bait is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 4,520
Default

Dumb question, but have you rebooted your system?
__________________
Chris Hatfield, TLCA# 2768, KCZAB
Ad Sales Manager, Toyota Trails/tlca.org
'97 FZJ80, '07 GS350


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:09 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 6,932
Default

The only thing I would try is to unplug the other drive, both power and the cable and see what happens.

Wondering if your BIOS settings are enabled for a master and slave on that IDE port. Did you check the BIOS settings?


Good luck Ige
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper
09 BMW Z4 sDrive30i
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:09 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 6,932
Default

Oh, make sure you power down before disconnecting anything
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper
09 BMW Z4 sDrive30i
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:09 PM
RockRunner's Avatar
RockRunner RockRunner is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roxborough
Posts: 4,388
Default

Ige. go to my computer and right click on it
then click on manage
click on disk management
Your C drive should show up and then there should be two more.
Your D drive may most likely need to be formatted and a new drive letter assinged
Your E drive should just need to have a new drive letter assigned to.

I can call you if you want and remote onto your system to help you.
Give me your number is you need it, can,t call me wife asleep already.
__________________
Thanks T aka Tom KR0MPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRunner;
keys = Man that is a whole story


TLCA #6136
Going under the knife again !

85 4runner Marlin Ultimate 5" lift 40" MTR's Soft top and doors Towed to Moab by the Big Blue Whale, 07.5 Dodge Mega Cab Laramie 4" lift covered and chiped No more slow lane for me
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:10 PM
Shark Bait's Avatar
Shark Bait Shark Bait is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 4,520
Default

That was going to be my next suggestion. Unplug the new drive, power back up and see if you can at least see the other drive.
__________________
Chris Hatfield, TLCA# 2768, KCZAB
Ad Sales Manager, Toyota Trails/tlca.org
'97 FZJ80, '07 GS350


Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:22 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,665
Default

going to bed now...getting tired. still recovering from a long day yesterday. only drives that show up in disk management are c and f (external harddrive). will try unplugging stuff tomorrow. thanks all.
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-16-2008, 10:26 PM
RockRunner's Avatar
RockRunner RockRunner is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Roxborough
Posts: 4,388
Default

Cool, you can call me at work tomorrow and I can try and help. Just PM me.
__________________
Thanks T aka Tom KR0MPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockRunner;
keys = Man that is a whole story


TLCA #6136
Going under the knife again !

85 4runner Marlin Ultimate 5" lift 40" MTR's Soft top and doors Towed to Moab by the Big Blue Whale, 07.5 Dodge Mega Cab Laramie 4" lift covered and chiped No more slow lane for me
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-17-2008, 08:39 AM
leiniesred leiniesred is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aurora, CO, USA
Posts: 1,281
Default

get a Macintosh.

(I'm a darksider in the IT world too)
Sure, I administer Windoze networks all day, but I've had a macintosh in the house since 1989.

Ige: If the device shows up in "device mangler," then it should certainly show up in "my computer" with a drive letter under "devices with Removable Storage." Mirocenter does service what they sell, or bring it by my place in A-town. We'll getcha fixed up in a jif. You can play with the Macintosh while you wait or you can assemble the transmisison for my MR2-Spyder!
__________________
KD0FDS
Stephen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.