Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 02-22-2008, 06:55 AM
Uncle Ben's Avatar
Uncle Ben Uncle Ben is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, Colorado
Posts: 13,129
Send a message via AIM to Uncle Ben
Default

Done....request to Sophie has been made.... Thank you Wes and Sophie, what a great team!
__________________
KUBN
Kevin
TLCA #3007
Northside!

Colorado Trail Patrol
Stay on the Trail!
I'm the God-fearing, gun-toting, American flag-waving, conservative you were warned about!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AxleIke View Post
I need an FJ40....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
Cruisers are superior
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-22-2008, 07:17 AM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,032
Default

This makes me want to program the 7800.

I didn't get the cable last night it is in the package coming today. I did get the yaesu SW though so I can play with both of them.

Dave - Since your stoked, how do you make the groups? Also, based on what you said I don't see any reason to keep the CB channels. I am going to add the Moab channels and look up the Repeaters near the Rubithon and add those.

Wondering if after I get this all programmed if I can use the same file with different SW for my 7800. be a lot easier if you had the same groups etc.
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-22-2008, 07:38 AM
Shark Bait's Avatar
Shark Bait Shark Bait is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 4,560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romer View Post
I ordered the USB cable off of ebay
Ken,

Which one did you get? The ones from Hong Kong are a little cheaper, but delivery time seems kind of uncertain.

Alvaro turned me on to this place and I got a cable & adapter to program the FT-2800 for my FJ40. It only took about 3 days for my order to show up.
__________________
Chris Hatfield, TLCA# 2768, KCZAB
Ad Sales Manager, Toyota Trails/tlca.org
'07 GS350


Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:26 AM
Shark Bait's Avatar
Shark Bait Shark Bait is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 4,560
Default

Thanks Dave,

Maybe we should have a programming party?
__________________
Chris Hatfield, TLCA# 2768, KCZAB
Ad Sales Manager, Toyota Trails/tlca.org
'07 GS350


Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:38 AM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romer View Post
Dave - Since your stoked, how do you make the groups? Also, based on what you said I don't see any reason to keep the CB channels. I am going to add the Moab channels and look up the Repeaters near the Rubithon and add those.
Dunno with the RT software. With Commander, at the top there is pull down that lets you get to memory groups. It's not fancy. On the radio, push MON[F] and then the #9 key. This accesses the special memories section. You scroll through the selections (SW BC, Marine, etc) to the #2 option, MR Groups. Press the MON[F] - #9 key combination to set it. Now the upper left of the display will be flashing the 'MG' and the group number will be just to the right of it. Scroll through to the number of the MG you want. In the case of Denver repeaters, go to #3. With it flashing, hit [V/M] to select it and now the radio will only do MG frequencies. BTW, this only works on the main VFO, not the sub. Press the [V/M] key again to pick a different memory group. To get out, do the MON[F]-#9, select the #1 option of off. Now the main VFO is back to normal operation. This is also how you get the shortwave broadcast stations, the #5 option in the special memories.
Quote:
Wondering if after I get this all programmed if I can use the same file with different SW for my 7800. be a lot easier if you had the same groups etc.
The files are not universal. So you have to export one into a CSV and then you can import the CSV into the other radio's programming software. Now that I think about it, I'm not sure that the RT Systems ADMS-2I software can do that. Dang it, I forgot about that, now I gotta get the FTB8800 tool...
__________________
'91 Toyota Pickup
'09 Kawasaki KLR650
'12 Gunnar Rockhound 29

"They say the test of literary power is whether a man can write an inscription. I say, 'Can he name a kitten?'" -- Samuel Butler
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:55 AM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,032
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark Bait View Post
Ken,

Which one did you get? The ones from Hong Kong are a little cheaper, but delivery time seems kind of uncertain.

Alvaro turned me on to this place and I got a cable & adapter to program the FT-2800 for my FJ40. It only took about 3 days for my order to show up.

This one
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN:IT&ih=007

Bought it last Saturday and should be getting it today
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper

Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-22-2008, 11:34 AM
Uncle Ben's Avatar
Uncle Ben Uncle Ben is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, Colorado
Posts: 13,129
Send a message via AIM to Uncle Ben
Default

Hmmmmmm......uploading from Commander to VX-7r keeps locking up the laptop......not sure why as I have no error message just frozen computer. Yes, I have the 7r in Clone Wait mode and my com port is correct.
__________________
KUBN
Kevin
TLCA #3007
Northside!

Colorado Trail Patrol
Stay on the Trail!
I'm the God-fearing, gun-toting, American flag-waving, conservative you were warned about!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AxleIke View Post
I need an FJ40....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
Cruisers are superior
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-22-2008, 11:40 AM
DaveInDenver's Avatar
DaveInDenver DaveInDenver is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Larimer County
Posts: 6,522
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Ben View Post
Hmmmmmm......uploading from Commander to VX-7r keeps locking up the laptop......not sure why as I have no error message just frozen computer. Yes, I have the 7r in Clone Wait mode and my com port is correct.
Does that little Cable Test program run OK? A locked up 'puter sounds more like a driver issue.
__________________
'91 Toyota Pickup
'09 Kawasaki KLR650
'12 Gunnar Rockhound 29

"They say the test of literary power is whether a man can write an inscription. I say, 'Can he name a kitten?'" -- Samuel Butler
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-22-2008, 12:15 PM
Uncle Ben's Avatar
Uncle Ben Uncle Ben is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, Colorado
Posts: 13,129
Send a message via AIM to Uncle Ben
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInDenver View Post
Does that little Cable Test program run OK? A locked up 'puter sounds more like a driver issue.
I have waisted too much time I didn't have on it now so it's gonna have to wait till later. It seems like the USB/Serial adapter thats messing with it. It worked yesterday so I might have to reload the driver for the adapter before I mess with it again....
__________________
KUBN
Kevin
TLCA #3007
Northside!

Colorado Trail Patrol
Stay on the Trail!
I'm the God-fearing, gun-toting, American flag-waving, conservative you were warned about!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AxleIke View Post
I need an FJ40....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
Cruisers are superior
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-22-2008, 04:14 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 7,032
Default

So do you use the FRS signals to talk to people on portable unlicensed radios?

What are the ones marked 4WD and those with -Nat after it?

I am going to take a cut at different file using yours as the starting point. Trying to first define what are the groups that would be good to have, maybe we can compile several inputs and come up with a master. Could even split up the work entering info.

Here is my thoughts on grouping set looking for comments:

Denver/Boulder Area 2M Repeaters
Colorado Connection Repeaters 2M
Denver/Boulder area 70cM Repeaters
2M Simplex
Moab 2M Repeaters
Rubicon 2M Repeaters
6M stuff

Have you found value with the CB, FRS and GMRS freq's?
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
77 FJ40
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper


Last edited by Romer; 02-22-2008 at 04:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.