Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-19-2008, 08:42 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,880
Default Adding 12v accessory (cigarette) outlets

I'd like to add a pair of accessory outlets to the side of my center console before CM. My CB runs off one and I'm going to add a Sirius Stiletto. That will leave one extra for phones, GPS, etc...

Anyway, who's got a good source for the outlet hardware. The best I've found so far is from West Marine.

http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...9&classNum=311

What has everyone else used? Is there anything out there that will offer a stock look?
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2008, 08:52 PM
Romer's Avatar
Romer Romer is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 6,955
Default

I got a 12V outlet at pepboys. I actually have two on the right side of the center console and then another in the back. All individually fused in a secondary fuse box and always on.
__________________
Ken Romer - K0ROM
04 UZJ100
11 RX350
02 Kimberley Kamper
09 BMW Z4 sDrive30i
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:56 PM
nuclearlemon's Avatar
nuclearlemon nuclearlemon is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: denver
Posts: 5,696
Default

got the ones for teh raffle rig at checker.
__________________
ige tlca #1431
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:08 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Corbet,

I ran out of time before CM07 so I went hi-tech and picked up something like this (except mine is silver, has an on/off switch, and was had at Target or Wally World for ~$10 IIRC):

http://www.realtruck.com/php/waterma...041.wct&id=972

I still don't have additional outlets installed - But, this has worked for me and I've have the kid's DVD player, cell phone, and IPOD all plugged in and powered at one time with no problems.

I know it isn't what you are looking for but in case you get in a time crunch it might be an option.
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2008, 07:52 AM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,880
Default

Kind of off the topic but part of this install. I'll also be adding an accessory fuse block to handle the power outlets as well as a future HAM install. Looking ahead, is it safe to assume a 15a circuits will meet the power demands of a HAM radio, ARB frig, etc....

Thinking something like this right now.

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku

Or there was a thread on MUD regarding using an OEM cherokee fuse box that looked pretty cool.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT


Last edited by Corbet; 02-20-2008 at 10:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2008, 12:16 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corbet View Post
Kind of off the topic but part of this install. I'll also be adding an accessory fuse block to handle the power outlets as well as a future HAM install. Looking ahead, is it safe to assume a 15a circuits will meet the power demands of a HAM radio, ARB frig, etc....
Corbet, this thread might help some --> http://www.risingsun4x4club.org/foru...ead.php?t=3567

Starting with post #31 there is discussion on adding a second fuse block with some helpful information on wiring size etc. As for amp ratings once you have the fuse block installed then you can wire up and fuse the individual circuits at the appropriate size for what the device requires. How big of a secondary fuse block you need (max amp rating, max # of circuits, etc.) is determined by what all you are planning to add. I would suggest going the next size up to allow for growth (i.e. you plan to add 3 ckts then go for a block that will support 6 or more ckts)

HTH
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2008, 01:57 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,880
Default

I'm looking at a 7 circuit block. 3 always hot, 4 ignition.

Probably wire up the HAM, Frig, and one front outlet always hot. The other 4 leave for additional outlets and other misc crap.

Anyway the ARB website only gives an average amp hour draw. (.7 - 2.7 amp hour) Anyone with real world experience of what a frig will draw while actually running at max? Looks like most of the HAM's I've looked at are fused at 15a. So I'm good there.

The only thing that has me a little worried about that painless unit is the 30a relay. Each circuit has a 20a fuse. But if all the ignition hot circuits have to run through the 30a relay then you could in theory overload it. (if I understand it correctly?)

I guess having an engineer as a roommate for 10 years makes me over think everything too much.

Thanks for the link, I'll research a few of the links inside that thread.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:05 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Hopefully Romer will chime in

He has a fridge and all the goodies plus being the EE he is this is probably no brainer stuff for him. I'm no help because I still don't have the foggiest of an idea how you make a ckt "ignition switched" vs. hot - When I installed my CB I just ran power straight off the battery. That I can do
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:10 PM
Corbet's Avatar
Corbet Corbet is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Durango, Colorado
Posts: 3,880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corsair23 View Post
I'm no help because I still don't have the foggiest of an idea how you make a ckt "ignition switched" vs. hot -
With the painless box you just need to tap into a circuit you know is ignition hot, and that trips the relay. The relay then completes the circuit at the fuse box. But your main power still comes right off the battery. You then add accessories to the box just like you would to the battery.

Accessories added to the always hot circuits are pretty much connected directly to the battery but the box is just a fancy inline fuse.

Pretty much just like using a wiring harness for a set of driving lights. But the fuse box is the lights. And you tap off a circuit like you do the headlight wire.

Did that make sense? Sometimes my hands don't type what my brain is thinking to well.
__________________
Speski OffRoad LTD, Cargo Solutions for Toyota 4x4's http://www.SpeskiOffRoad.com
"80 series, with a fridge"
1976 FJ40, Project with little progress.
2004 Starcraft 10RT

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:40 PM
corsair23's Avatar
corsair23 corsair23 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Littleton
Posts: 8,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corbet View Post
Did that make sense? Sometimes my hands don't type what my brain is thinking to well.
Makes perfect sense ...Applying it is the difficult part for me though

Maybe once I actually dig into it and do it things will make more sense. I have the fuse box Slee sells and when I looked at it is is just one strip and it wasn't obvious where the ignition source would feed in.

On a side note, and I meant to mention this before, on the Painless aux fuse box I recall a post by Gary (waggoner5) about there being a couple different versions of the Painless blocks and there was one you want to get if you go that route and there was one you want to avoid.
__________________
Jeff Z. (the "not quite as skinny" one)
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

:

"...anything else i can do for you guys, how about i wash your car or mow your lawn while you figure out your firewall system? I am now boarderline insane/unibomber." Kipper

"That assumes I'm even capable of pulling and stabbing..." Jacket

"I really like having a detachable unit." Beater
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.