Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Old 01-05-2006, 10:22 PM
Cruise Moab Committee

Send a message via AIM to Hulk
Smile Chains!

So if I want to purchase some chains for my FZJ80 before the Sunday Snow+Pizza Run, where should I get them? I'm running BFG AT 285/78 R16 tires (virtually identical to a 33" tire). Is there a big difference in quality? Pep Boys? CarQuest? Napa?

And... how do ya put 'em on? I'm a complete tire chain noob.

TIA.
1996 FZJ80 TLCA #4189 WRDY
www.rustybrain.com/cruisers my Rising Sun bio Facebook Twitter Need satellite Internet? Check out: Exede Internet

If you think you can or think you can't, you're right.
Old 01-05-2006, 11:20 PM
Rising Sun Member

I've got a pair, I think. Should they go on the front or the rear?

Old 01-06-2006, 08:16 AM
Hard Core 4+

May want to ask treeroot where he got his, nice oval square link style. It is best on all 4 wheel. but when going up, on front, when goin down on rear. Reasons are you want to chains to do the best for you, so going up you are pulling through stuff and most of the weight is over the pulling axle. When going down, if on front, rear end likes to come around so chains go on rear. Short stuff not a big matter, but long down hills with ice, it is best to have the chains on the rear.
Antother method I have seen reccommened is oposite corners of the truck, one front, one rear. I guess the thought is one will bite to not allow the swaping of either end. And that way if no lockers a wheel will find some traction and pull you forward. Good for a experiment if want to try that method. good luck robbie
Old 01-06-2006, 08:27 AM
Rising Sun Member

Send a message via AIM to treerootCO

http://tirechain.com/square_alloy_cross_chain.htm

219 for all four delivered for 37s. 33s run around 150 for all four.
pride is ego, the word I had lost was dignity. The quality or state of being worthy of esteem or respect.
Ptarmigan build thread - 95FZJ80