Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Other Hobbies > Ham & CB Radio Corner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 01-23-2009, 08:59 AM
nakman's Avatar
nakman nakman is offline
Rising Sun Commander
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: north side
Posts: 9,945
Default

That's a great point Dave, also note that most of us run on 1 watt almost exclusively, particularly on trail runs. It's only when you really want to try to hit someone that you bump up the power... I've become a QRP junkie though, I always aim for the lowest power setting that still gets the job done.

And to qualify something from above, I have had QSO's with Ige from my driveway that's above Indian Hills, when she's on Yankee Hill on 5 watts. I have also monitored/spoken with her when I'm in Empire and she's running Kingston Peak.. both times there were 3-4 other trucks in her group and I couldn't hear any of them, or maybe one other occasionally, but none as consistently or as clearly as Ms. nuclearlemon

That side of the hood lip mount didn't work the best for me, but you have somewhow got it right so don't change a thing, Ige.
__________________
99 uzj100, 05 525EXC

www.gamiviti.com

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:14 AM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,554
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

life it too short for qrp. I'll run 5w on the trail next to folks but otherwise turn up the power

I'd still like to make an antenna Nathaniel
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:18 AM
Groucho's Avatar
Groucho Groucho is offline
Rising Sun Ham Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Arvada, Colorado
Posts: 1,650
Default

No problem, Wes.
I have parts that I can get to you.

Here is a picture of the part for the hood mount antenna bracket. Nothing major, probably can get something like it at the CB shop, but this one fits at the mounting location well.
Attached Images
 
__________________
--Choose Wisely--
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-23-2009, 09:26 AM
MDH33's Avatar
MDH33 MDH33 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Land of Corn
Posts: 5,784
Default

Any suggestions on which antennae I should get for my 40 if I go with the 1802? I will likely mount it somewhere up front but not sure where.
__________________
--Martin

'85 FJ60
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2009, 10:05 AM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,554
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

Build one of Nathaniels or larsen NMO 150-B
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-23-2009, 11:22 AM
RicardoJM's Avatar
RicardoJM RicardoJM is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH33 View Post
Any suggestions on which antennae I should get for my 40 if I go with the 1802? I will likely mount it somewhere up front but not sure where.
I concurr with Wes. Mounting mine was as easy as drilling a hole in the bumper. While it is not in the ideal location to maximize ground plane, it works great. I've only had it out on the Spooky Night Run, but we got pretty spread out and being near the back I had no issues communicating with Nakman (and everyone in between) up at the front.

Here is the post on the installation of radio and antenna in my 40. There is also a link in there to the antenna building party, which has step by step description of the process, but for some reason is missing the pictures. Perhaps, Corsair23 can review the image links.
__________________
Ricardo Maestas - Bio Page
KD0CAW
1999 LX 470
SOLD - 1971 FJ-40
TLCA #18941
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2009, 12:30 PM
MDH33's Avatar
MDH33 MDH33 is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Land of Corn
Posts: 5,784
Default

Great info guys, thanks.

More questions:

When connecting power to a radio, does it have to go directly to the battery? If so, why? Can it connect/splice into the fuse panel? If it goes directly to the battery, would you need to put in some sort of inline fuse?

When mounting the ham radio antenna, how close to the CB antenna can it be?
__________________
--Martin

'85 FJ60
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:03 PM
Uncle Ben's Avatar
Uncle Ben Uncle Ben is offline
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Louisville, Colorado
Posts: 13,147
Send a message via AIM to Uncle Ben
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH33 View Post
Great info guys, thanks.

More questions:

When connecting power to a radio, does it have to go directly to the battery? If so, why? Can it connect/splice into the fuse panel? If it goes directly to the battery, would you need to put in some sort of inline fuse?

When mounting the ham radio antenna, how close to the CB antenna can it be?
The cleaner the path from battery to radio the cleaner the operation!
__________________
KUBN
Kevin
TLCA #3007
Northside!

Colorado Trail Patrol
Stay on the Trail!
I'm the God-fearing, gun-toting, American flag-waving, conservative you were warned about!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AxleIke View Post
I need an FJ40....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Chili View Post
Cruisers are superior
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:05 PM
RicardoJM's Avatar
RicardoJM RicardoJM is online now
Rising Sun Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MDH33 View Post
When connecting power to a radio, does it have to go directly to the battery? If so, why? Can it connect/splice into the fuse panel? If it goes directly to the battery, would you need to put in some sort of inline fuse?
I ran the power direct to the battery. The radio comes with plenty enough wire to get to the battery. I did sheath the wires in a plastic tube and used zip ties to route it so it is clean looking and doesnt fall into anything in the engine compartment.

I suppose you could tap into the fuse panel. I would recommend against this because of the risk of introducing "alternator whine" and possibly overriding the circuit that you tap into. If you go this route ideally you would want to have a dedicated slot on the fuse panel. IIRC, Rezarf even labled the slots for accessories when he installed his second fuse panel. In the future this is something that I would like to do as well.

The wiring that came with the radio has fuses inline and is almost ready to go out of the box. The only "wiring work" I had to do was crimping on connectors to attach the wires to the battery posts. I used the type of connectors that have waterproof shrink wrap built in. Once I decided where I wanted to put the radio, the rest of the install did not take long.

I only have the ham so I'm not in a position to answer the question on how far away the CB antenna needs to be.
__________________
Ricardo Maestas - Bio Page
KD0CAW
1999 LX 470
SOLD - 1971 FJ-40
TLCA #18941
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-23-2009, 01:30 PM
wesintl's Avatar
wesintl wesintl is offline
Hard Core 4+
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: in da house
Posts: 7,554
Send a message via AIM to wesintl
Default

My 2 antennas are both the the tabs on the bull bar so like 3ft. It was fine on the GTR but for the most part i'll be loosing the cb forever.
__________________
See you on the trail
WREK
Couple o' FJ40's, BJ70, UZJ100, TDI 66FJ40,82FJ60,97FZJ80
TLCA#4180
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.