Rising Sun Member Forums  

Go Back   Rising Sun Member Forums > Toyota 4x4 > General Tech Forum

Old 02-07-2009, 06:23 PM
Wincher

Default Pit-man arm pull? FZJ80

Ok so I recently got my newest toy, which has a major problem. Somehow... the left pit-man arm is set in wrong. I believe it is just a quarter turn off but not sure. So I get about 2 1/2 turns out of steering wheel when I turn right but only about 1 3/4 or so when I turn left. Basically I'm just wondering how difficult it would be to pull it and set it right. I have never done it before so on a scale of the old 1-10 how damm hard is it? Thanks in advance if anyone can help, or give any advice.
Old 02-07-2009, 08:32 PM
Hard Core 4+

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigma303 View Post
the left pit-man arm is set in wrong.
you specify left, there's only one pitman arm is this the arm coming off the bottom of the steering gear? you'll need to get the lower nut off, impact is the only way i've been able to get them loose on other model cruisers, then you need a high quality puller.

don't use heat because you can damage the output seal.

also, just before you pull it, get an awl and scratch a line across the arm and the bottom of the output shaft so you know where it was before you pulled it
ige tlca #1431
Old 02-07-2009, 08:51 PM
Rising Sun Member

Did you check to make sure that when you turn left you aren't up against the "doohickey" that is supposed to limit how far the tires will turn left or right? I'm sure there is a technical term for whatever it is (turn limiter bolt or ??)

I only ask because I remember seeing those doohickeys when Ben and I serviced my 80's front axle and I asked them what they were for - Just thinking out loud but if someone backed one of them out for some reason I would think that would limit your turn radius.
TLCA #17037
'97 LX450 - aka "The Whale"
'97 FZJ80 Antique Sage AE #267, stock
12/74 FJ40, 2F, SM420, 4" Lift, ARBs, 33" MTRs

: